We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not stable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bewley's Lunchtime Theatre

Bewley's Lunchtime Theatre
78/79 Grafton Street, Dublin, Ireland
+353 (0)86 8784001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 218 Attractions in Dublin
Attraction details
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not stable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Working as a tour guide in Ireland, I always visit Dublin on the end of a two week roundtrip and let my guests decide where to eat. Also this time and we ended up in the Bewleys Café. It was excellent: good food, served in time, good value for money and nice staff who looked after us.
I would give 5 star, but I came there twice, with my next group I recommended this place, but it ended up in a huge disappointment. We were stashed away in one of the rooms on the side, food wasn't in time and not served at the same time. The staff stayed friendly, that was a good point.
I will definitively give it a try this year, when visiting Ireland. If it is as good as it was the first time I will delete this review and give it a 5 star!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“An inspiring performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Fred and Alice is not to be missed! Ciaran and Cora put on riveting performances as two people with OCDs. Not an easy topic to weave light heartedly into a short time, but written superbly. I will remember some of the scenes for a long time.
It was a packed house and everyone applauded long and hard. Great value for a lunchtime.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This has become a must whenever we're in Dublin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you love informal theatre this venue is a must go to. A small intimate theatre space; soup and a chunk of Irish bread. Brilliant drama. Always a mind stretching experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Theatre during lunch? Yes, please.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was definitely different. The play was a one man show. More like a long monologue, but very well acted. The soup and bread were fresh. Nice light lunch and entertainment in the middle of the day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hidden gem, well worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stopped here while in Dublin as part of our Ireland vacation. It was definitely worth while. There is so much to see in Dublin, and this was great because you can get something to eat while taking in another attraction. The meal was a thick soup and some of that wonderful, hearty Irish bread.

While we were there, they were performing "Diceman", a one-man play about a particularly famous Grafton Street performer. It was very well done, humorous but deeply moving, and also incredibly human. The subject matter of the play lent a depth to the street scene outside when we left, that we hadn't really paid attention to on the way in.

All of this is from someone who generally isn't all that into theater, so don't think it's only for people who are really interested in performing arts, either.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bewley's Lunchtime Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Bewley's Lunchtime Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bewley's Lunchtime Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.