We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lovely Food Company

The Lovely Food Company
14 Terenure Road West, Dublin, Ireland
01 4927717
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #159 of 1,755 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Bakery, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Lovely Food Co is delighted to bring Gourmet-Cafe Dining to Terenure Dublin. Brought to you by a multi award winning team we focus on the freshest local food, our team prepare in-house daily to deliver an extensive range of fresh homemade products to our customers. Whatever we don’t produce in house is sourced from some of Ireland's upcoming artisan suppliers.Opening Hours Monday 8:30am until 5pm , Tuesday to Friday 8:30am, last orders 9:30pm, Saturday from 10am with last orders at 9:30pm, and Sunday from 10am until 5:00pm.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Will return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've visited The Lovely Food Company five times now with various people and it's always been good and the staff friendly. I was disappointed, however, on my latest visit when the small glass of orange juice I received was clearly not fresh and seemed like poor quality concentrate, yet I was still charged the same price (€2.95) as the beautifully fresh orange juice I had had there previously in a more generous glass.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    69
    25
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A hidden gem in Terenure (Dublin 6)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a great restaurant. Food is top class, service is excellent and very nice place to enjoy breakfast lunch or dinner. Also excellent value for the high quality food.

My favourite picks are
>the BBQ chicken salad with mango and cashew nuts for starter
>Eton mess or Mars bar cheesecake for dessert

For me, the star of the show is the Pork Belly main.. what a dish.. Absolutely amazing!

The Lovely Food Co should be number one on the list for eating out in Dublin!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terenure's hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great food with a low price, menu with some great choices. Nice free bottle of wine on a wednesday night and confortable tables. Fantastic service that makes you feel like you are part of the family. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, excellent staff, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We dined at The Lovely Food Company again last night and had a fantastic time. The food was superb, well presented and excellent value, the staff were professional, engaging and added greatly to the ambience.

We are regular customers of The Lovely Food Company since it opened. It is an atmospheric, busy neighbourhood cafe serving good food at great value. The fact that it is so busy is an indication of it's popularity.

We are a family group but also dine here separately and have recommended it to many friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Compliments to the chef but not the floor staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went here for brunch and the food really was "lovely". However, the quality of service left a lot to be desired. Took an age to get menus and the engagement from staff was perfunctory at best. also the table was a little bit dirty when we sat down and we had to clean it ourselves. No attention from the staff and had the feeling that they felt they were so busy all the time that they did not have to bother over-doing it on the service side of things.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodie558, Owner at The Lovely Food Company, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Draff0107

As the owner, im absolute stunned to hear of that your experience with us so disappointing.
Above everything else, myself and Margaret our manager make customer service our number one priority. We have spent considerable time training our staff in this and there is no excuse for our staff not looking after you and your party better than they did.

Having seen your review, I spoke with all the staff that were working to find out what exactly happened. The good weather was unexpected, all our court yard seats were full and we were admittedly understaffed. This is still no excuse for bad service, and I would like the opportunity to invite you back. Would you be so kind as to contact me on my personal email. Paul@lovelyfood.ie
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lovely Food Company also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Lovely Food Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lovely Food Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.