We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Terenure (Dublin 6)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lovely Food Company

The Lovely Food Company
14 Terenure Road West, Dublin, Ireland
01 4927717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 1,854 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Bakery, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Lovely Food Co is delighted to bring Gourmet-Cafe Dining to Terenure Dublin. Brought to you by a multi award winning team we focus on the freshest local food, our team prepare in-house daily to deliver an extensive range of fresh homemade products to our customers. Whatever we don’t produce in house is sourced from some of Ireland's upcoming artisan suppliers.Opening Hours Monday 8:30am until 5pm , Tuesday to Friday 8:30am, last orders 9:30pm, Saturday from 10am with last orders at 9:30pm, and Sunday from 10am until 5:00pm.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A hidden gem in Terenure (Dublin 6)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a great restaurant. Food is top class, service is excellent and very nice place to enjoy breakfast lunch or dinner. Also excellent value for the high quality food.

My favourite picks are
>the BBQ chicken salad with mango and cashew nuts for starter
>Eton mess or Mars bar cheesecake for dessert

For me, the star of the show is the Pork Belly main.. what a dish.. Absolutely amazing!

The Lovely Food Co should be number one on the list for eating out in Dublin!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    31
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Terenure's hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great food with a low price, menu with some great choices. Nice free bottle of wine on a wednesday night and confortable tables. Fantastic service that makes you feel like you are part of the family. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, excellent staff, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We dined at The Lovely Food Company again last night and had a fantastic time. The food was superb, well presented and excellent value, the staff were professional, engaging and added greatly to the ambience.

We are regular customers of The Lovely Food Company since it opened. It is an atmospheric, busy neighbourhood cafe serving good food at great value. The fact that it is so busy is an indication of it's popularity.

We are a family group but also dine here separately and have recommended it to many friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Compliments to the chef but not the floor staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went here for brunch and the food really was "lovely". However, the quality of service left a lot to be desired. Took an age to get menus and the engagement from staff was perfunctory at best. also the table was a little bit dirty when we sat down and we had to clean it ourselves. No attention from the staff and had the feeling that they felt they were so busy all the time that they did not have to bother over-doing it on the service side of things.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodie558, Owner at The Lovely Food Company, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Draff0107

As the owner, im absolute stunned to hear of that your experience with us so disappointing.
Above everything else, myself and Margaret our manager make customer service our number one priority. We have spent considerable time training our staff in this and there is no excuse for our staff not looking after you and your party better than they did.

Having seen your review, I spoke with all the staff that were working to find out what exactly happened. The good weather was unexpected, all our court yard seats were full and we were admittedly understaffed. This is still no excuse for bad service, and I would like the opportunity to invite you back. Would you be so kind as to contact me on my personal email. Paul@lovelyfood.ie
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had breakfast here before and enjoyed it so decided to go back again for lunch. We arrived at 3pm and the place was still busy so we sat outside. Wasn't overly impressed as there was dirty tissues and wrappers on the ground and the tables we not that clean. However we ordered two sandwiches at approx 3.10pm. At 3.55pm
After three other customers that came in after us received their orders we decided to leave. We met with our server on the way out and said we were leaving as we were waiting so long and she merely said sorry there's a lot of orders. I replied that other customers that arrived in after us have received their food and again this was met with a half hearted sorry and then she walked off! Two staff members saw we were waiting and didn't even acknowledge that we were waiting. Instead one walked by and had a cigarette behind a fence that we were sitting at. Overall a very bad experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lovely Food Company also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Lovely Food Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lovely Food Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.