We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yacht

The Yacht
73 Clontarf Road, Dublin, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #673 of 1,797 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very friendly service and portion size was huge. Food excellent and will return if in the area again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    29
    19
    8
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a great venue for either drinks or food. They do a lunchtime carvery every day up to 3.30pm and have something to suit everyone's palate. The food is really reasonably priced for good quality dishes. I personally prefer to wait until after 4pm for their A La Carte menu. This is a really extensive menu and you are spoilt for choice. The staff are really friendly & nothing is too much trouble. Beautiful view of seafront also. I would highly recommend the Yacht to anyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Pub, Average Barfood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have been here a few times, the pub is lovely it's a great place to go for an early Evening drink and a chat with friends, the food is fine too stand outs on the menu are steak sandwich and fish n' chips, anything else I've had there is nothing to write home (or on trip advisor) about. The staff are lovely and the prices are in line with what the area charges so all in all it's a good place for a few pints and a bite to eat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place came highly recommended and I must admit I was disappointed. The atmosphere is pretty good in that its busy, warm, and comfortable.

The food was, well, average. Had a warm goats cheese bake which was reasonable, but nothing special. The prawns with toasted bread were cold and rubbery. They absolutely ruined the burger - overcooked to the point of not actually tasting of anything.

As for value - the menu was extremely overpriced, especially when you consider the quality produced.

The waitress made me feel like I'd stepped back in time to some Irish countryside village in the 70's. We were a group made up of two brits, a portuguese girl and a dutch guy. She laughed and joked with locals as she made her way around the bar, and then proceeded to be impatient with us whilst we decided what to have (heaven forbid we actually asked questions about dishes and forced her to think), as if she had somewhere better to be. Incredible.

I think I'll stick to city centre places in future, where they seem to have time for 'outsiders'...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime buffet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had roast beef, roast potatoes and veg. Ample amounts of food at a very affordable price in very comfortable surroundings.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yacht also viewed

 

Been to The Yacht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yacht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.