We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some fantastic mid-week laughs!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Comedy Cellar

The Comedy Cellar
Upstairs at The International Bar | 21 Wicklow Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
0035316779250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 239 nightlife in Dublin
Type: Comedy Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Home of Ireland's longest running comedy club The Comedy Cellar was set up by Mr. Trellis (Ardal O'Hanlon, Barry Murhy, Kevin Gildea, Dermot Carmody) and is the comedians comedy club. Always mixing the top comics working today with the new talent coming through you won't have a better night out in Dublin than here!
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Some fantastic mid-week laughs!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have been to the Comedy Cellar upstairs in The International Bar on a Wednesday a few times and it is definitely the best place for a laugh mid-week. This long-running comedy venue has some of the top Irish comedians popping in to do a set and I've been lucky enough to have seen John Colleary, Ardal O'Hanlon and Karl Spain there, just to name a few. This venue is small and intimate, perfect for some crowd interaction, so be warned if you choose to sit in the front row!! The main guarantee is the venue's talented host Andrew Stanley, who's amazingly quick witted jokes and observational gags will keep your sides splitting throughout the evening. With 3-4 comedians per show for only a €10, it is a great night to break up your week or to start your night out!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great entertainment, great value and can have a drink:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I Have been here few times already and always had a great time. And great thing its running 7 nights a week so usually nights there are not planned, and we all know this nights out are the best:) Personally, I like humor of Andrew Stanley, he is hilarious and he runs a show on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. This is the place were Tourist, Locals, Ladies, Guys, Stags, Hens, Couples, Families and all Nationalities are very welcome to laugh out loud.
;)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“hilarious Irish comedy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Andrew Stanley is a brilliant comedian! I never saw a comedian playing with the crowd the way he did!! I couldn't stop laughing and most important ... he didn't insult them!
Quick and sharp humor!
Don't miss it... it is an amazing experience!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great comedy in an excellent venue. Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I originally saw Andrew Stanley play The Punchline Comedy Club as MC on St Paddy's Day in Hong Kong two years ago and he blew away the other two on the bill - none other than Ardal O'Hanlon AND Karl Spain - a very funny young man! Luckily, I wasn't sitting on the front row on this occasion but he did make a mockery of a few poor lads, but in the name of good comedy and all was in good taste!!

The quality of talent on show is nothing short of superb and I'll be certainly going back at the next opportunity. The venue itself is a great pub with character, inviting and makes an ideal venue for a comedy night. This long-running show comes highly recommended to anybody who's up for a good evening of intelligent humour and for visitors who want a taste of exceptional Irish comedy.

Nothing short of superb!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Laugh Out Loud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have never had a bad night at this place, some seriously talented comics on show here, you will not be disappointed!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Comedy Cellar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Comedy Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Comedy Cellar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Comedy Cellar to your Saves list