We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pembroke Townhouse to your Saves list
Pembroke Townhouse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Strangford, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The rooms are very nice, reception first rate. I have stayed here several times for business and have always been happy. The only downside would be a bit of traffic noise...but not a big deal. I would suggest to ask for a room that doesn't face the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi Peter M,
Look forwad to seeing you again soon!
Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    157
    83
    28
    12
See reviews for
77
218
30
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A lovely hotel and at just £79 B&B for a one night stay this is an extremely good choice. The hotel is very clean and I found the staff polite, attentive and courteous. It's a small hotel just a short distance from the city centre. Plenty of buses and taxi available outside, for those not able or willing to walk. The lounge area is very comfortable with free tea/coffee a nice touch

However there is no bar, which is a shame. I also agree with the previous comments about Wifi that in this day and age it should be included as part of the package. Unfortunately there are no tea of coffee making facilities in the rooms, so if you want a cuppa it means a trip to reception. These 3 last points prevent me from giving full marks. However this wouldn't deter me from coming back.

Room Tip: It's worth checking when you book that you are not staying in one of the two bedrooms on the rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mark_Hanrahan,
Thank you for writing a review!
So glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope we get to welcoming you back again on another occasion. You know we can bring tea/coffee to your room 24 hours ... complimentary!
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on the weekend of the Ireland vs. South Africa Rugby match. The service was great throughout. The hotel looks impressive from the outside, and the rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. The coffee and tea amenities are all included in the lounge area which was a really nice touch- very homely feel.
I did a small amount of shopping on my last day and unfrotunately left my purchases behind. We contacted the hotel and they were so helpful, sending out my things by post the next day. Couldn't have asked for more!
If I return to Dublin I wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Helen R,
Thank you! So glad you had a nice stay and I hope we get to greeting you back again soon.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I paid €142 euro for a 2 night stay here in a double room. The room although comfortable and clean was very small for 2 people. It was also a little on the dated side. The reception area was lovely though and for the price I couldn't complain. Any room
Service ordered was delivered promptly and staff were friendly. It was good to have a secure car park also.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Gham 17,
Thank you for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again on another occasion.
Best regards,
Fiona and the crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here recently for an event at the RDS, for 4 nights and it was super from start to finish. The price was good, although there are cheaper places in the area, I went for this after a less than fantastic experience at the large hotel opposite.

I found these guys via twitter, and they are quite social media conscious. As the conference was about new things in technology, this hotel seemed to fit in. Checkin was quick, although the lift is quite slow. The room was medium sized, with a decent bathroom with plenty of towels.

The hotel TV was probably the smallest TV I've seen in years, but then again you don't pick a hotel for it's TV. They have paid WiFi, which really should be free, I mean if you calculate the average cost per user, and tack that on the bill, but asking for €2 to access the internet is a bit like days gone by.

I've saved the best for last, their breakfast. It's a buffet style, along with some special dishes like a full Irish breakfast, or my favourite the smoked salmon & potato cakes.

Room Tip: As for a room higher up if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
HerringGull,
Thank you for writing and glad you enjoyed your stay!
Yep - I'm the twitter addict here!!!
Soem good news - we now have free wifi ...(and the small tv's are on the "to do" list quite a while...we've refurbished a few others things first which was priority).
We are delighted to like our breakfast ..we are a littel proud of that too!
I hope we get to crossing paths again on another ocassion.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcock, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My darling wife booked us in for 3 nights, my big birthday present. The first pleasant surprise was free car parking, sometimes a serious issue when staying in Dublin.
They put us on the 5th floor, lovely and quiet. We unpacked & went down for a quick cuppa in the lounge. Lovely homemade biscuits, all free, nice touch.
The bed was huge, I'm sure I heard an echo. The old style TV was a bit off-putting, used to so many channels, but we didn't watch it much so no problem, however I can imagine problems if the weather was bad & we were forced to stay room-bound.
Breakfast was a revelation, so much choice, such a tasty fry-up. I think we could have had as much tea, & rounds of toast as we wanted, free of charge.
Loved it, will probably go back again, but hopefully they will sort out the WiFi next time. In this day & age we expect our hotels to give free WiFi, not €2 for an hour, €14 for a day. This is the only thing I can fault them on. It didn't matter to me as I was on a 3G contract, so didn't use it, but some children staying there were annoyed that they couldn't use the Internet.

Room Tip: Go high, quiet & nice view of south Dublin
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi murfinsurfin,
We did!!! - the wifi is free now!! You see - we do listen!!...
We are delighted you had a nice stay and I hope we get to seeing you again some day.
All our best,
Fiona et al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My Boyfriend took me here for my Birthday last weekend. What an excellent choice, at first on the taxi drive over from Connolly station it seemed quite far out, this was not the case it was merely a 15 minute walk, and a lovely walk at that to Grafton street area. The Room was beautiful, and the bed was very comfortable. The Hotel had a lovely atmosphere and the building itself is full of character. The staff were great and the Breakfast was lovely, although a touch expensive. All in all an excellent stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Emma M - so glad you enjoyed .... look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you so much for writing.
Best, Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ....where you can enjoy a dose of real Irish hospitality in this cosy home from home...and homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll down a tree lined avenue to the heart of Dublin City....Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 fresh and contemporary en-suite bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... safe, television, trouser press, hair dryer, complimentary "room service" tea and coffee, iron on request... or one may prefer to stay in one of the two story mezzanine mini suites. Pembroke Townhouse offers a 24 hour service like in a hotel, but with a personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews and guides in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Get the inside knowledge of the local area from friendly staff who are happy to recommend a favourite local restaurant or hotel (only breakfast is served in house) and some fun things to do! Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order and the selection of tasty Omelettes or the yummy French Toast! Or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home made crunchy Granola or some home baking - Fruit Scones, Soda Breads, Banana Bread, maybe some Yoghurt Loaf -all baked daily! We may even give you the recipes to bring home! Secure Parking is mostly available and is complimentary to residents and wi-fi is available (small fee) throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is delighted and very proud to be included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland, 2010/2011" Guides! Also included in the hotel list of Fodors Guides "Best", the Michelin Guide and the Georgina Campbells Guide.... A few words from Fiona and the crew: "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.