We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could live in this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pembroke Townhouse to your Saves list
Pembroke Townhouse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I wish I could live in this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I love this hotel. I have stayed three times-once with my sisters, once alone and most recently with a friend. It was perfect each time. The staff are outstanding: friendly, well-informed and helpful. The promise of coffee or tea whenever you want it is a real one and the accompanying home-made biscuits are delicious. Rooms are clean and very comfortable and the public areas are welcoming and elegant. If I were rich enough I would spend three months of every year living here. It is an enjoyable 15 minute walk from the city centre (buses regular for non-walkers) and five minutes from a great Italian restaurant and pleasant cafes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Lylawright,
We are so amused you want to live with us!!!! But also we are delighted!
You are always welcome back to stay (or live!) with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you for all the kind words.
All our best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    172
    85
    29
    13
See reviews for
86
229
30
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a small boutique hotel that is a ten to fifteen walk to central Dublin. If you choose not to walk there is a bus stop nearby.The hotel has a small lobby and a very nice sitting room adjoining it. Tea, coffee and cookies are always available there. The rooms are not large but they are comfortable. There was a nice en suite bathroom with plenty of towels and hot water. The entire property was immaculately clean and obviously well cared for. They offer a full or extensive continental breakfast at an additional charge. We opted to eat breakfast out and there were a number of places within a five to ten minute walk.
The property is easy to reach both from and to the airport. The airport bus has a stop about a block and a half away.
We opted to buy the Dublin Card which included access to most of the major attractions in addition to giving us unlimited use of the public transport system. This can be purchased on line (www.dublinpass.ie). Besides being a real moneysaver, it allows travelers to avoid handling money when entering an attraction or traveling on a bus.
People from the U.S. who are planning to use a major credit card would be well advised to request your credit card company to issue you a card that employs a chip and pin. These are commonly used in most European countries to better counter unauthorized use of your card. Though swipe cards are commonly accepted, sometimes they are not accepted. So if you plan to use a swipe card, be sure to have some cash with you as a back-up.

Room Tip: Our room was in the rear and there was no street noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear DaisyKUA,
Thank you very much for writing a review and also for staying with us - It was so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to get to welcome you on another occassion.
Best regards from Fiona and all the team
PS - that is good advice about the chip and pins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel a few times. I love the fact that you can leave your car at the back yet it is sufficiently central that you can walk into the centre of the city easily. At first I was disappointed with the room this trip as it had a sofa up a flight of stairs which seemed most odd. This turned out to be most welcome and relaxing. The breakfasts were most enjoyable with one of the best home-made granolas I have tasted. As well as the normal fare they also served newly baked breakfast cakes which were perfect for first thing as they were not too sweet.
The only downside is that one evening it was very hot and we could not open the window.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Davidguerilla,
Thank you very much for your recent review and for staying with us, also in the past. It was lovely to read your review, and we would like to thank you for your feedback.
We hope to get to welcome you on another occassion.
Best regards from Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Superb place, lovely bedroom, great public areas, super breakfast and very friendly atmosphere. Can't fault. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your review Dkestrauss - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Pembroke and felt it was a friendly place.
All the best from Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Conveniently located in an elegant part of Dublin. Great walks in Herbert Park. Lots of atmosphere. Superb breakfasts with homemade granola (Fiona has given me the recipe) and eggs "any which way". At the end of a long day (even midnight) a lovely tray of tea and shortbread biscuits delivered to the room at no charge. Fiona booked theatre tickets and managed to get great seats on the opening night of the Dublin Festival.
Bedrooms well fitted, very comfortable bed and very clean, modern bathroom.
Our room had a mezzanine lounge which was useful for giving us more space. Great to have free parking for our hired car. Will stay there again! Staff were all excellent and very obliging.

Room Tip: We liked the view over Pembroke Road. Rooms are not large, so you need to keep your things tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Hi Shmoozey,
Thank you for writing - it is so good to hear you enjoyed your stay and mostly the baking! Also, that theatre was good too. I hope we get to see you again on another trip over.
All the best from Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

Extraordinary service - warm feeling - good location - charming rooms and open areas - very good value for money

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you FredrikSeashore68, we loved having you stay and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. From Fiona and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

Rooms ok, but ours had mezzanine lounge. Useless. Bed comfy, good sleep due no noise. Could do with bigger tv, my iPad had bigger screen! Meals good value at 25 euro per double for brekky. Secure car parking too.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Crocbit,
Thank you for staying with us at Pembroke Townhouse and also for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you also for your feedback - I am so sorry you didn't enjoy the mezzanine room. If you are coming to stay again, please advise us and we would love to give you another room type to see if you prefer this instead.
Also, thanks for the feedback on the tv's - that is on our "to do" list!
I hope we get to welcome you back again in the future.
Best regrads,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#59 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#64 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ....where you can enjoy a dose of real Irish hospitality in this cosy home from home...and homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll down a tree lined avenue to the heart of Dublin City....Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 fresh and contemporary en-suite bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... safe, television, trouser press, hair dryer, complimentary "room service" tea and coffee, iron on request... or one may prefer to stay in one of the two story mezzanine mini suites. Pembroke Townhouse offers a 24 hour service like in a hotel, but with a personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews and guides in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Get the inside knowledge of the local area from friendly staff who are happy to recommend a favourite local restaurant or hotel (only breakfast is served in house) and some fun things to do! Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order and the selection of tasty Omelettes or the yummy French Toast! Or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home made crunchy Granola or some home baking - Fruit Scones, Soda Breads, Banana Bread, maybe some Yoghurt Loaf -all baked daily! We may even give you the recipes to bring home! Secure Parking is mostly available and is complimentary to residents and wi-fi is available (small fee) throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is delighted and very proud to be included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland, 2010/2011" Guides! Also included in the hotel list of Fodors Guides "Best", the Michelin Guide and the Georgina Campbells Guide.... A few words from Fiona and the crew: "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.