We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made an incredible experience even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City of a Thousand Welcomes

City of a Thousand Welcomes
Little Museum of Dublin | 15 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, Ireland
0035316611000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 286 Activities in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Little Museum of Dublin for more information on this award-winning civic initiative. We look forward to welcoming you to Dublin.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Made an incredible experience even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our first stop after dropping our bags at the hotel was to meet up with our guide for this program. We met our guide at a restaurant where we had some drinks provided by our guide and she gave us a tour of the city to get us oriented with Dublin. We were all so thankful for the bit of history and tips and tricks she was able to give us about the city.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great program!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was one of the best things we did in Ireland. Our ambassador, Ruth Ryan, discussed a variety of topics with us, gave us an "insider's view", and answered all the questions we could think of. We had plans for touring the entire country, and she went over our itinerary with us. Based on her suggestions, we made some modifications, and I think they were excellent changes to our plans. As advertised, it was completely free, with no strings attached. We thought maybe we could at least tip Ruth for all of her time, but she refused to accept any money at all. I have recommended this to friends, and will continue to do so. It is well worth the time, and unlike anything else you will do there. I wish more cities had programs like this.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A warm welcome to Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I highly recommend this program. Our Ambassador (whose name I sadly cannot remember, but I want to say Henry) was charming and extremely knowledgeable about Dublin's history, as well as local attractions. We had a couple of pints with him in a nearby pub and talked about restaurants, theater and museums, and could have chatted with him for hours. We followed several of his recommendations for restaurants and were not disappointed. It was a great experience to spend time with someone so clearly excited about their country and culture and eager to share.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely marvellous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We loved the meeting with our Ambassador Bob. It was an absolutely marvellous start of our 10 days stay in Dublin. It was a pleasure to talk to Bob, a very warm and welcoming gentleman. Although I had lived in Dublin some time ago and knew my way around, we got helpful hints concerning public transport and were filled in with the major developments in the city during the last years that I had missed out on. For my husband and children it was the first visit to Ireland and they got a first good impression of the friendliness and hospitality of the Irish. Higly recommended and thanks very much to the organizers and all the volunteers who give their free time readily to foreigners.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dublin ambassador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We visited Dublin in May 12.
Thanks to your association, we lived a very pleasant moment.
We met with great pleasure Frances Newman in the Merrion Hotel.
She made of our stay an unforgettable moment.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City of a Thousand Welcomes also viewed

 

Been to City of a Thousand Welcomes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City of a Thousand Welcomes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.