We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee Musuem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Museum of Dublin

The Little Museum of Dublin
15 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 661 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Little Museum of Dublin like an insider
Top Rated
$70*
and up
The Dublin Pass
Ranked #10 of 610 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want to discover the story of Dublin in just half an hour, visit the Little Museum today. Our guided tours – on the hour, every hour – offer a short, entertaining introduction to Irish history. The museum is housed in a landmark Georgian building on St Stephen's Green in the very centre of Dublin – and we are open every day.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great wee Musuem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Popped into this little museum I. A spur of the moment decision and what a great one it was. Just a very small museum containing lots and lots of various items from 100 years of Dublin history. There is a tour starting every hour and our guide, the enigmatic John Scanlon, gave a witty and informative tour of some choice exhibits with real passion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLittleMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I'm so glad to read you are happy you decided to come in! Feedback from gusts like you is very valuable to us, as we believe it is the key to continuing to improve the experience we give our visitors. I'll be sure to pass along to John that you enjoyed your tour! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,170
    386
    88
    25
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Little Museum of Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

What a fantastic little place, so much to see and learn. The walking tour guide was brilliant, extremely informative and even threw in some jokes. He gave us so much knowledge of the area and answered all of our questions. I would recommend visiting to anyone!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLittleMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
It's always wonderful to read that our guests enjoyed their time here at the museum and their tour. Thanks so much for taking the time to visit us and leave a review! Feedback from guests like you is of the upmost importance to us, so please feel free to give us any additional comments you may have. Thanks again for visiting and please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable way to spend an hour or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Wasn't really sure what to expect when we visited, but glad that we did! A very informative exhibition of Dublin history, including photographs, artefacts, and descriptions. We didn't take the tour as we had a little one with us, but it was still highly enjoyable. The U2 exhibition on the top floor is great, and really gives you a good insight into how the band evolved.

We paid on the door, but I believe paying online will give you a big saving.

The only downside was the lack of exhibits that would be of interest to little ones; a few more interactive exhibits would ensure that younger children don't lose interest.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLittleMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to visit the Little Museum and leave us a review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the museum. Feedback from our guests is very important to us, so thank you for offering your suggestions as to how we can improve. I can promise we will look into making your suggestion a reality and I will keep you posted as to any developments. Thanks again, and please come back to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hilarious and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Wow that's a boring title. Sorry. Something that isn't boring is this museum. It was the best part of our Dublin holiday and I had burritos from Pablo Picante, which were great, but not as good as this.

Ciaron (sorry if I've misspelled your name) was fantastic, he had my wife in absolute stitches. Liam Neeson and movember. And then while she was crying with laughter he'd tell about something sad and then she didn't know what to do, until he made her laugh again. It was brilliant.

We visited a few places, like Kilmainham gaol, Croke Park and the Guiness museum. They were all great and I kinda fell in love with Dublin a little, but this was by far the best.

Also free liquorice all sorts...

Keep up the great work, truly deserving of all 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLittleMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I'm so delighted to hear you and your wife enjoyed the Little Museum so much! We believe the best way to see the museum is with our tour, so its always great to get feedback from guests saying they appreciated our tour guides. I'll be sure to let Ciaran know you enjoyed his tour. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback and please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Not the usual museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our first visit to this very interesting museum, full of pictures and artifacts which brought back memories of Dublin not so long ago. Definitely take the tour which is on every hour - it really brings things to life for you.
You can book on line at a discount, or may be lucky enough to get a €2 voucher off outside the door. With your ticket you can get 10% off in the restaurant down below - The Hatch.
At the top of the building there is a whole room devoted to U2 complete with part of their Trabant car!
There is not too much to overwhelm you as in major museums, and ideal for a quick look look and update on Dublin history. The tour guide engages the people - the day we were there about half of the people were from Dublin, and we had to give our input! Others were from Germany and USA that hour. It made me think of stuff at home which I could donate!
Will definitely be back and bring my visitors to Dublin.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLittleMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I'm so glad to read that you enjoyed the time you spent here at the Little Museum. It's always nice to receive good reviews from locals. We are continually striving to improve the experience here at the museum so please feel free to give us any additional comments. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and we can't wait to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Museum of Dublin also viewed

 

Been to The Little Museum of Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Museum of Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.