We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Museum of Dublin

The Little Museum of Dublin
15 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 661 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 218 Attractions in Dublin
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want to discover the story of Dublin in just half an hour, visit the Little Museum today. Our guided tours – on the hour, every hour – offer a short, entertaining introduction to Irish history. The museum is housed in a landmark Georgian building on St Stephen's Green in the very centre of Dublin – and we are open every day.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Decided to take a walk around my city today and came across this Museum. Very reasonable to enter. Lovely to look out from the house over St Stephens Green.Guide gave interesting talk of the various political changes over the century. Liked the photos and memoborbila, some brought back memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleMuseum, Assistant at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
You're too kind. Glad you enjoyed the trip down memory lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    923
    316
    71
    21
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Discovery at your doorstep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent last Saturday afternoon at the Little Museum Dublin, and I have to say, this is a wonderful place!
The tour was very informative, done by a highly skilled and knowledge guide, and he was able to tell a wonderful story about dozens of artefacts.

At the ground and top floors were photographic exhibitions about life in historic Dublin.
And take a rest downstairs, at the Hedge and Sons cafe.

A treasure chest in the middle of the city!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleMuseum, Assistant at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Good reviews like this make our jobs a pleasure to do. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such positive things about the museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Really interesting well put together exhibitions. Lovely friendly guides. I would Highly recommend a visit, especially to locals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleMuseum, Assistant at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
That’s really kind of you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great temporary exhibitions and good guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Little Museum has improved dramatically since my first visit when it first opened. It now covers three floors of a beautiful Georgian building. The two main rooms have endless memorabilia on the walls and a tour of this area is a good idea. The temporary photographic exhibitions I saw were also very interesting - tenement life in 1913 and also an exhibition on later Dublin. It is good value and aside from that there are special offers of free entrance also for a few hours every week. It is also open late on a Thursday.... almost all museums in Dublin close at 5pm every day so this would be a great way to spend a couple of hours on a Thursday evening.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleMuseum, Assistant at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you. We love reading reviews like this. Come back to the museum soon, our temporary exhibits change all the time. A new exhibition ''The Huddled Masses'' will be starting in May, it will document the relationship between the Irish and Americans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I loved this small, quirky museum. Set over 3 floors in a Georgian house close to St Stephens Green it retold some of the social history of Dublin from the 1900's to the 2000's. There was a photographic exhibition of the history of the tenements in the city which was very informative. Well worth a visit!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleMuseum, Assistant at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Glad you like the museum. Thank you and come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Museum of Dublin also viewed

 

Been to The Little Museum of Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Museum of Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.