We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The idiot's guide to 20th century Dublin!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Museum of Dublin

The Little Museum of Dublin
15 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 661 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Little Museum of Dublin like an insider
Top Rated
$70*
and up
The Dublin Pass
Ranked #10 of 611 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want to discover the story of Dublin in just half an hour, visit the Little Museum today. Our guided tours – on the hour, every hour – offer a short, entertaining introduction to Irish history. The museum is housed in a landmark Georgian building on St Stephen's Green in the very centre of Dublin – and we are open every day.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The idiot's guide to 20th century Dublin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great new project that brings together a collection of items to tell the story of Dublin and it's people. The staff are probably the friendliest in any museum I've been to!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor W, Manager at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Yes! You made our day. Thank you for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,176
    387
    88
    26
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Two rooms of not a lot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I went to visit an "Aquarium" in Havana once. It turned out to be some blokes living room with a couple of tanks of goldfish and those black ones with the big googly eyes just like my Granny used to have. That aquarium was more fun than the Little Museum of Dublin. I really do not understand what this museums is supposed to be? It is two rooms full of random photos and memrobelia (i.e junk) and that's it. The tour guide was good and did his best to inject some personality into the tour but he struggled to get a word in against a pair of reminiscing pensioners. I would liken this museum to viewing someone else's holiday photos. If you weren't there it's just dull.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor W, Manager at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Yikes. You really didn’t like the museum. Sorry about that – and do please give us another chance one day, we’re trying hard to create something special here on St Stephen’s Green.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Loved the gold-plated snack food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A modern history of Dublin, by decade, told in photos and momentos. The symbolism of the gold-plated snack food for the decade of the "Celtic Tiger" was telling.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor W, Manager at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
This review is very kind, thank you for your generous words of praise – and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting, But You Need The Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My OH and I picked up some 50% off vouchers for this at the Natural history museum. The museum, taken on face value, is a little confusing, as it's really just a collection of pictures and things. We managed to listen to half a tour, and a member of staff filled us in on some more. With the explanation that goes with it, the museum is fascinating. I recommend checking the time of the tours and trying to get to one of those, otherwise you're clueless.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleMuseum, Assistant at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to visit the Little Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Little review.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Small, quick to get around and interesting It is as it says, Little. If and when it expands it will be a real Gem.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleMuseum, Assistant at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Glad you like the museum. Any success is down to the people of Dublin and their generosity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Museum of Dublin also viewed

 

Been to The Little Museum of Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Museum of Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.