We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darwins Restaurant

Darwins Restaurant
80 Aungier Street | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
+353 1 475 7511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Came here for dinner on a weeknight with a voucher. The owner was Super friendly and welcoming. We were seated and I ordered the squash salad to start while my other half had the calamari. Both dishes were excellent. We had the fillet steaks with chips salad and mushrooms. The steaks were good albeit a tad chewy .. I ordered medium rare so not sure what happened there. Sides were tasty. Service was mostly good. Our waiter was keen on hurriedly taking our order I had to stop her from leaving twice as we weren't done ordering extras. Overall a nice place that's worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    112
    26
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great restaurant. Food is always good, I normally have the lamb and my boyfriend a steak and it never disappoints. The restaurant is always full, so there is a great atmosphere. Staff are very friendly. One of my favourites.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Steak.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Found on Trip Adviser and proved to be as good as it said.
My husband & I probably had the BEST Steak we've ever had here, cooked perfectly, although the Rissoto was a little bland.
But well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent steak and service but the starter and dessert was a let down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal in Darwins firstly the good points:
Excellent service and friendly staff.
Great value with a voucher.
The steak was excellent. Cooked to perfection and really nice cuts of meat. The main course was the highlight.
The only thing i would fault was the starter and desert- goats cheese salad with butternut squash. I dont get this dish. If u order a goats cheese salad the goats cheese should be the highlight of the dish, it was just tiny bits of crumbled cheese over powered by butternut squash. Basically it looked a fine big starter but the cheese was lost. Not good.
The dessert was forgettable. Terrible in fact. Choclate brownie was so dried out tasted abit stale. I love anything choclate but not this. Iv had better takeaway dessert from marks and spencers. Take this off your menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice, but no cigar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is nice, but there are 3 things that let it down:

1. The price
The meal will cost you about €50 per head, so budget for that if you want a pleasant evening (well, if you've paid for babysitters and taxis, you might as go all in).

2. Lack of staff in the kitchen to fulfil covers
The staff are great, but I waited for the cheese board to mature and my hair to go grey before I could taste it. The reason was that a large party (12 - large?) was getting all their mains at the same time. You would have finished you digestif before the cheese came out, and a comment on it was not really followed up correctly.

3. What is on the plate
The food was fine, but everything is extra. Additionally the cheese board for two is pathetic - 3 pieces of cheese and a few crackers.

Overall... try Nico's on Dame street instead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darwins Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Darwins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darwins Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.