We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitefriar Grill

Whitefriar Grill
16 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 475 9003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,822 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: French, Irish, Grill, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorable food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Group of us ate here for dinner recently and between us all we tried a good range of dishes. Everything was excellent! Great tasting food cooked perfectly and good size portions at very fair prices. Staff really know their stuff and looked after us brilliantly. Front of house man, Nigel, had us all in stitches too with his witty banter! Will definitely be back and would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    187
    48
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Solid menu packed with well-executed dishes and some great favourites. Good fish, good shellfish, great steak. Decent and not overly expensive wine list. Limited cocktails as the restaurant doesn't hold a spirits licence, but their cocktail list is creative, so you wouldn't know the difference.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food, great service , great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

we ate here very recently for the first time - it was super and lived up to the good reports we had heard about the restaurant ! We will def return to avail of the great midweek deals and early bird menus on offer - something for every one !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Belgium waffle!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had been here before so we had an idea of the surroundings as well as the food. We also met the manager Nigel on previous occasions so we were on very solid ground. This visit was no different than any other you would make to a restaurant i.e we wanted a welcoming atmosphere, friendly, good food and finally value for money. This place ticks the box on all of these matters and then some.

Firstly I rang the restaurant two hours before I wanted a booking for three of us and on a busy day...Sunday brunch. A table was secured for us and we went about our business until it was time to eat. The first thing on entering the Whitefriar Grill was the 'easy music' being played and then the warm friendly welcome. Next we were guided to our table, seated and presented with menus. This was followed shortly by a waitress who took our drink and food order while another laid out glasses on the table along with a pitcher of water.

If this was the process up to now and if it was carried out with precision and professionalism then the next bit was the icing on the cake.

The food arrived and it was deliciously tasty, wholesome, well presented and absolutely delightful to the palate. We all had a desert and while the brunch desert menu had a number of choices I of course wanted something that wasn't included but there was no problem with this and my choice of desert was delivered and duly eaten. Coffee was served and once again this was delicious.

Finally i asked for the bill and was very pleased to see I wouldn't end up in a bankruptcy court because we had drinks, meal, deserts and coffee. The final bill or tally could only be described as real value for money and I would have no hesitation in going back to the Whitefriar Grill again.

Best wishes and many thanks
R + M

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Had brunch there today with herself.Great food and great service. Try the Huevos, very nice!!
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitefriar Grill also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Whitefriar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitefriar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.