We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitefriar Grill

Whitefriar Grill
16 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 475 9003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,891 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: French, Irish, Brasserie, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Good food and service. Good selection of craft beers. Very pleasant staff. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    157
    41
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food, fairly priced, a little off the beaten track.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were down from the expected six to four former colleagues, meeting up to check our progress in our new-ish jobs and delighted to be able to avail of the early bird menu. Three of us had the gambas pil-pil on crushed tomato toast and one had the sticky barbecue baby ribs. The gambas were gorgeous and there were no complaints about the ribs. I think three of us had the pulled pork and one had the steak. The steak woman eyed our chips covetously and ordered herself a portion. There was a very good selection of wines. Four 2-course early birds, a bottle of red and a bottle of white, coffees came to a very reasonable Eu141. Overall, a safe and familiar menu with a few little adventurous streaks.
Aungier Street has been on the brink of commercial success for many years, but has never quite got there. Close to St Stephen's Green to the east and St Patrick's Cathedral to the west, tourists making their way to the restaurant via York Street or Golden Lane respectively would need to watch out. A little off the beaten track of restaurants further north on South Great George's Street, the Whitefriar Grill is a short walk from Dame Street and is well served by buses. Definitely worth the detour.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Got the early bird dinner from 5-6pm, 2 courses for €19.95. Amazing food and decor, also lovely staff. Will definitely be going again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stopped here for lunch, and sat at a table outside. I agree with a previous review that it could be a little crowded, fortunately there was only one other table being used when we were there. We did enjoy the food and would particularly recommend the starters of clam chowder and king prawns in garlic/tomato sauce served on bruschetta (sorry can't remember what it was called!). Staff were very attentive and prices were reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool, excellent value and lovely food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife brought me to the Whitefriar Grill on Bank Holiday Monday. I was seriously impressed. The Decor is cool, the staff are very friendly, the food is delicious and the wine we had was so tasty. We eat out a lot but I have not been as impressed with a restaurant in ages. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitefriar Grill also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Whitefriar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitefriar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.