We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitefriar Grill

Whitefriar Grill
16 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 475 9003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: French, Irish, Grill, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Got the early bird dinner from 5-6pm, 2 courses for €19.95. Amazing food and decor, also lovely staff. Will definitely be going again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    187
    48
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stopped here for lunch, and sat at a table outside. I agree with a previous review that it could be a little crowded, fortunately there was only one other table being used when we were there. We did enjoy the food and would particularly recommend the starters of clam chowder and king prawns in garlic/tomato sauce served on bruschetta (sorry can't remember what it was called!). Staff were very attentive and prices were reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool, excellent value and lovely food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife brought me to the Whitefriar Grill on Bank Holiday Monday. I was seriously impressed. The Decor is cool, the staff are very friendly, the food is delicious and the wine we had was so tasty. We eat out a lot but I have not been as impressed with a restaurant in ages. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“i just wanted to go out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I really did not enjoy time in this place. At first, it is too small, too crowded and you could not enjoy your meal. Service was not nice. Food normal, but nothing special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I went to the Whitefriar Grill for our anniversary last weekend whilst in Dublin after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and were very pleased we did.

We booked in advance via the website as I knew it would be busy. We arrived at 7 and were taken straight to our table. Water was served immediately (without asking) and the waitress told us a list of all the specials that day.

I ordered the chicken wings for starters and 'ribs & rump' for main, both were excellent both in taste and quantity. I could not fault either in the slightest. My wife had melon and the 1/2lb burger for main, she also agreed both dishes were perfect.

Overall the experience was perfect for our special occasion and I would 100% recommend this to anyone visiting Dublin. Don't forget to book ahead as this is a very popular restaurant in Dublin city centre.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitefriar Grill also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Whitefriar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitefriar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.