We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty modern cuisine in a fun area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitefriar Grill

Whitefriar Grill
16 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 475 9003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 1,807 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $16 - $36
Cuisines: French, Irish, Brasserie, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty modern cuisine in a fun area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently visited the Whitefriar Grill for a late dinner. We had reservations and were seated promptly. Although service was slow (they did have a full house) it was charming!

The oysters were delicious, especially paired with the very interesting Oyster Stout. Everything we ate (mostly daily specials) were well presented, good flavours and had interesting interpretations of normal Irish cuisine. It was an excellent break from endless fish n' chips!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    352
    121
    37
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good steak ...but service way too slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I thought the food here was average - fine for a casual meal or large group. The prawn pil pil was quite bland . Steaks were good though but the lasting memory of whitefriar for me is the incredibly slow service and complete lack of attention from staff. After each course, our dinner plates would sit in front of us for at least 20 minutes before the plates were cleared. so by the time it came round to dessert (two and a half hours after we originally were seated) I was quite frustrated. We had to ask for more water and Ask for cutlery. In fact the dessert menus were just sitting in front of us for so long, I had to signal to a member of staff to come take our order.They need to hire staff or inform customers at the outset that dinner is a long and slow affair.. food is not good enough to warrant that kind of wait and still come out happy!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Another great place in Dublin for both fish and steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were a group of 6 and ordered steak, fish and even vegetarian dishes. Everything was excellent and we were all very happy with our choices. My favorite was the roast fillet of hake. The deserts were also delicious.

I just can't give it 5 points in this scale because the service was incredibly slow.

Make sure you call ahead to reserve a table, this place is always full.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“really too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

really too noisy, to the point of making it really unpleasant to stay there. we were a party of 8, and could not exchange words except with the person in front of us, and with some difficulty. There are lots of things they could actually implement to deal with this serious problem. food ok, staff very nice. timing for dishes ok in a prty of 8.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Some colleagues and I were going to a charity function on Camden street recently and were going to have dinner beforehand. I suggested that we go to Whitefriar Grill as I'd heard a lot about it and was dying to try it.
We arrived in early on a Tuesday evening after work and while it was quiet when we arrived it was nearly full when we left!
We didn't opt for starters due to time so we went for main and dessert. Two of the girls had the pulled pork sandwich - and they're still talking about it! Another colleague had a burger and I had the Hake with Caponata. All main courses went down extremly well and were followed by three chocolate brownies and one selection of ice creams and sorbet.
It has a lovely relaxed feel and the service was really great. Great spot and definitely one I would recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitefriar Grill also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Whitefriar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitefriar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.