We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitefriar Grill

Whitefriar Grill
16 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 475 9003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,890 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: French, Irish, Brasserie, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely restaurant in the heart of town, lovely food and great service. Good option for lunch and early bird is great value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    157
    41
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delicious meal at the Whitefriar Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a meal here with my sister and 2 friends last Saturday evening and I must say what a hidden gem this place is. Everything was perfect, the atmosphere was wonderful, the service friendly, prompt while unobtrusive at the same time. It's a lovely casual restaurant and the food is top notch. Really tasty and great value too...I had the wings for starters and the ribs 'n' rump for my main and can recommend both. Also, others ate the monkfish (yummy) and the veggie option (cannelloni) and I tasted those too, gorgeous. I'll definitely go back here in the near future....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
1 review
“Excellent Friar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a fabulous Friday evening at the Whitefriar grill recently, quite simply perfect from start to finish. We started with beautiful cocktails, for the main we shared a divine cote de boeuf surf n' turf and we finished with the cheese board and paired wines. This is a fabulous restaurant with great attentive but unobtrusive service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“affordable good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

this is a busy place and its hard to get a reservation there the food was unusual ,,not the every day fare that you get every where else, it is good and the prices are good well worth the visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, Arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

What a great find. For our last night out in Ireland my wife, daughter and I decided to eat at the Whitefriar. First, reservations are a must as its a small restaurant and very popular. Everything we had was excellent but I must comment on the steaks. I've had the opportunity to dine at some of the finest steak places in the US. I've always enjoyed them but usually leave thinking I grill a better Prime steak. The Whitefriar can grill a steak to perfection with the right balance of seasonings. The bone in ribeye is the best piece of meat I've ever had at restaurant. To end the evening we shared the chocalate fondue which was also tasty. This is a do not miss place in Dublin.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitefriar Grill also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Whitefriar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitefriar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.