We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitefriar Grill

Whitefriar Grill
16 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 475 9003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,886 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: French, Irish, Brasserie, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
2 reviews
“Nice spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and small restaurant. The service was excelent, food tasty, one of the best brunches in town. This is the place you would recommended to your friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    157
    41
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Like everyone else in Dublin I heard a bit of hype about this place and had to try it. It has an athmosphere that can't be influenced by anything other than how happy and relaxed everyone is in the restaurant.

I've eaten here three times, twice in the evening (one was the early bird, which is amazing value!) and once for Sunday brunch. Each time I was very happy with the service and the food is exceptional.

Whitefriar exceeded my expectations and i will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“3.5 stars?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely food and some interesting ideas but the flavours didn't all complement each other. This was the case with 2/3 dishes. But lovely place as per picture, great staff and reasonably priced. I'd go again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Easily the best brunch in Dublin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is a treat for your taste buds, trust me! I went to the Whitefriar Grill for brunch with my boyfriend and another friend recently - and we found it very hard to leave the place. It was a really cold day and the second we entered the restaurant it was so warm and welcoming. The atmosphere was unbelievable, really chilled for a Sunday afternoon with a DJ playing in the corner. There's a great selection on the brunch menu including some pick me up drinks after a hectic Saturday night on the town and mouth watering dishes - it was hard to choose what to order. We wanted it all! We ordered a few glasses of prosecco, Peroni and water, along with the Pulled Pork Sandwich and Crab Cake Benedict and a portion of wings to share...we practically licked our plates clean! We washed it down with some coffee cocktails and a watermelon cocktail and just soaked up the atmosphere. Nigel and his staff are extremely friendly, very efficient and make you feel very welcome, you'll definitely want to go again! We went in for a quick bite to eat and ended up staying three hours...we didn't want to leave. Definitely our kind of place and highly recommended. We'll be making ourselves regulars there from now on! Denise, Dublin

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Brunch in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This has become nearly the only place I want to have Brunch in Dublin. I have been here a few times now and a few other times I couldnt get in due to it being packed. Even 12pm on a Saturday I would advise booking in advance. You wont be disappointed.
The menu is perfect for all tastes and the food is amazing. The eggs benedict is one of the best around and the pulled pork ciabatta is amazing. I have continued to recommend WFG and will continue doing so without fear of disappointing. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitefriar Grill also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Whitefriar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitefriar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.