We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, great coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bald Barista

The Bald Barista
55 Aungier Street | Avalon House, Dublin, Ireland
0863129980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #620 of 1,883 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We ate breakfast here.the service was good, if a little matter of fact. Very much reminds us of a number of cafes in New York / canada with a good range of pre-prepared sandwiches, but also the option of made to order. Worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude and condescending staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I would not normally complain or leave reviews, but had such a bad experience in here that I just have to comment.

I was in for a quick lunch on Saturday. We ordered two sandwiches, both of which were quite tasty. I also had a coffee, and it was grand but certainly nothing out of the ordinary for around Dublin. However, the service was the most unpleasant I have ever had the misfortune of experiencing.

In addition to our sandwiches and coffee, we also got a bag of fancy crisps to share. When we tasted them we both thought they were stale and so went back up to the counter where they were changed without any problem. But then a minute later a member of staff came over and stood at our table demanding to know if we were the ones with problem about the crisps. She stood with her hands on her hips and told us they were not stale because they were still in date. When we told her the crisps were soft she went back behind the counter and came back with one crisp which she held out and snapped in front of us, declaring that the crisps were fine. She then wiped her hands and took the replacement bag back, and left. She did all this in a highly rude manner, which was aggressive and condescending. All of this turned a non-issue into something which means I will never darken the door of either the two Bald Barista places again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I am a regular customer of the Bald Barista on Aungier St. Have always found the coffee's to be the best in Dublin - of consistently excellent standard. I am also a big fan of the Burrito's, Quiches and Rosti's, the food looks homemade and the servings are of a good size. If I had any criticism, it would be the layout. Too many tables crammed together which can make it difficult to move about the cafe. The tables are too close to the couches at the back, and you sometimes feel like your in on top of the people at the neighboring table. It's a small quip though as I couldnt fault the place on coffee and food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Unbelievable coffee!! However one morning I was getting breakfast and the woman who took my order told me to take a seat. The owner started calling out my order and I was in my own little world and didn't hear. When I did I was like "Oh yes that is mine!". He replied with "This is self-service, if you want to be waited on, go to a coffee shop down the road." In front of everyone. I was humiliated. Only reason I sat down was because I was told too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious coffee and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This cafe serves delicious strong coffee and an amazing array of baked goods, breakfast and lunch items!! The staff is very friendly and remember customers!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bald Barista also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Bald Barista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bald Barista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.