We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apache Hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Apache Hostel

Apache Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Apache Hostel to your Saves list
Apache Hostel
29 Eustace Street, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Apache Hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The most disgusting dirt filled cesspool i have ever had the displeasure of setting foot in! The front door was constantly UNLOCKED, there was no one checking who was walking in and out of the place and if they were supposed to be there or not. We had to casually stroll past the OPEN kitchen area if the pizza place, up the filthiest set of stairs ever and into our UNLOCKED room, where all of the beds were in an absolute state. I doubt any of the sheets had been cleaned ever. We found it difficult to distinguish between the occupied beds and our ones. A sleepless and unsettling night later I get out the dirty top bunk (with no rungs at all on the ladder so i nearly had to step on the man's face beneath me to get down) to find blood all over the floor. And into the bathroom where i found the most disgusting toilet and a sink covered in what can only be described as pubic hair and filth.
This place is pure filth. I can't believe they are even charging people to stay here. I'm pretty sure I caught some air-born disease in the place. What made it worse is that they were selling food from the place downstairs. That just can't be safe or healthy for anybody. The only redeeming feature about it was where it was located , but I woud have felt safer and more comfortable sleeping on the pavement outside. Paid for two nights in the place, spent 6 hours there, about 6 hours too long.
I genuinely felt bad for not warning the people checking in as we left about what they were about to endure.
Every time i see an Apache Pizza place i feel ill remembering what i saw in that hostel attached to one. Vile!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    21
    12
    30
See reviews for
5
27
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hostel is anything but luxury but hey i was more tham happy to have stayed here. Didnt expect much and didnt receive much. I stayed in twin bedroom with just bunk bed, a small table and 1 chair and oh, a bin. No wardrobes or fridge etc. The room was old and needed to be painted, ceiling looked as if it was suffering from damp and the bunk bed was very sqeaky.
The room did smell a bit but we just opened the window which dealt with that small issue. The bed linen was clean but old. Shared toilets were very basic and dated but clean. They do have hot water 24/7 including a shower. They do provide toilet tissue, soap and toothpaste. The staff are ok, they do help but since the staff also manage the pizza restaurant they do take their time. The restuarant is part of the same building. The location couldnt be better. You 1 mins walk away from Temple bar which is full off pubs and restuarants. The reception area has a sofa to sit down and relax. Most people sit in the reception area to use the wifi as wifi is a bit flaky when youre in your room. All of the main sights are with walking distance. At the end of the day im not going to complain because we paid very little to stay here. The room did its job for us and i would stay here again if saving money was a priority.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The room was so dirty that we could not wait to leave again. There were hairs on the floor everywhere and stains on the wall and a tea stain on the bedside cabinet, proving that they had not cleaned the room between guests. It was absolutely terrible.

The bathrooms were really dirty as well - with so many people using them, they need to get cleaned regularly but the only time they were cleaned was once in the morning and by noon they floor was really dirty, full of muddy shoe prints and hair.

They obviously don't know anything about hygiene. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

And it gets really loud in the evenings because the windows onoly have single glazing and people in the streets are shouting until 4am. Luckily I had earplugs but my brother didn't - I felt so sorry for him.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location is great...everything else is bad. On arrival, we waited for 15 minutes for someone to take us to our room (we showed our reservation to one of the staffs and he asked us to wait. Afterwards, we found out that he went to make his pizza. And the other guy who in charge of the accommodation showed up after 15 minutes). A smell of mold in the room. Also we didn't sleep well at night as we could easily hear people closing their doors or walking/talking in the corridor. I should blame the soundproof instead of the quality of residents (we did ask them to lower their voice). To be honest, I definitely will pay more to avoid this kind of accommodation net time when I visit Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

But if you don't mind a staff that barely speaks more than 1 word English (rare in Dublin!) and a rock for a bed.. (probably a rock would sleep more comfy) then this hostel will do..

Have to say, the location is very good ( noisy at night, but good) the hostel is beyond bad! Saw a few, but this one is ridicilous! For example; be aware of internal bleeding due to the springs in the matrass.. hard to sleep when they're poking you everywere! Place is very noisy, but that's not necessarly a problem.

A problem could be the staff.. The guy we met mumbled a few words (only thing that he said quite clear was the amount of money we had to pay) he basicly lived in a sort of closset in the hallway, so when we wanted to check out (around 10.00 am) we woke him up.

Can't blame the guy, but the whole atmosphere was kinda depressing..can't recommend it if you're in for a fun stay in Dublin to be honest!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Cheap for Irlande ; well located right in the center Temple bar area... can be clean depending on who are there .... People from the hotel clean everyday but some customers are really discusting.
rooms are tiny beds are awfully uncofortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Without doubt the worst place I have ever stayed in in my life! Rented a double room for one night which was dingy and just appalling. We could hear everyone next door and we mostly just wanted to get out of there. There was an actually a dump on the bathroom floor that we had to share with other rooms and the staff actually sleep in the luggage room! Avoid!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apache Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apache Hostel

Address: 29 Eustace Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Apache Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apache Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.