We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel! An overpriced hostel.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lynam's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lynam's Hotel to your Saves list
Lynam's Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63-64 O'Connell St, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a hotel! An overpriced hostel.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The only thing going for this place is the central location, but thrb agaib, 90% of the hostels in Dublin are also conveniently located in the heart of a bustling downtown. I paid for my room the same amount I would have paid for a private room in a hostel. I opted for this one thinking I would get slightly better service and quality, but I was out of luck. I spent only one night in Dublin, so I didn't particularly seek out high-quality lodging. However, I won't stay at this place ever again: the mattress was the worst ever (I could feel every single spring on my back), the sheets were yellowish (time to buy new ones!), and the pillow was so thin that you couldn't even feel it. Broken fixtures, dirty carpet,non-working television, desk with missing chair and no bar soap were the other bad highlights of this so-called "hotel". Moreover, forget to drop off your luggage, unless you want to take your chances with having it stolen by some other hotel guest with bad intentions. Overall this establishment should be downgraded to half a star. Not even the staff made my stay enjoyable: you can tell the Indian girl at the front desk is quite bored. Finally, what's the point of having to leave the key at the front desk when going out when they don't even ask for your ID upon returning to the hotel?

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    87
    127
    103
    138
See reviews for
60
168
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last minute decided me and my partner would go up to Dublin for a night on the drink. Everywhere was full or crazy over priced. Found Lynams online for a decent enough price hotel to be situated on O'Connell Street. We checked in and the man at the desk was friendly, we left our bags in and went shopping and have a few drinks. Went back and got changed and headed back out for a night out, every pub we went to was walking distance. Even though when we came back pretty full could still heard noise alnight, as in people runnin up and down the corridors but sure you get that everywhere. Walls, carpets, doors are all a bit tired and old but its grand place to just leave your bags down and head out for the night. Wouldn't recommend if you were choosing to stay for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Don't book if you are looking for a quite, relaxing stay away!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed one night here with a friend. Expected real basic and budget for the price, but the rooms were lovely clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was equally spotless and I could not fault it, especially at the price. The owners should be delighted to have brilliant friendly and efficient staff. Totally exceeded my expectations and I would really recommend it to anyone on a budget. I will return

Room Tip: Mine was overlooking O Connell St and I found it fine but a rear room would be quieter again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awesome location right in the center of Dublin. Walking distance to everything. Hotel is sufficient, not fancy. Staff was helpful and friendly. You cant beat the value and location. My kids and I will stay here any time. When I travel solo, I will stay here everytime. I like to spend my money on other things and not an overinflated price of a hotel. Thank you for being that place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

Not a very nice place to stay water stains all over the celling and paper thin walls could not do anything without getting some one banging the wall. Can't say anymore would not stay again.it may be different this year but i don,t think so by the look of the front when walking passed it has not changed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I have visited carlos resturant in lynams hotel a few times and with the dealrush lunch vouchers for two,it was a lovely,i would recommend carlos as family and friends have gone and were not disappointed, its central to all the shops right in the heart of the city.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I didn't read reviews before we went. I just booked it because it looked central on the map and was a cheaper option in a city that isn't cheap. I WISH I had paid more. The front door is a fond place for junkies to meet their dealers - not the hotels fault. The alley behind the hotel is a fav spot of homeless people to shoot up - not the hotels fault. But honestly the staff were mean! Sometimes you can look past the tired furniture and dated rooms IF the staff are amazing. These guys could not care less. Rude. Uninterested. Mean. Wouldn't stay here again if you paid me. No charm. No service. Nothing to redeem it. Run away.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lynam's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynam's Hotel

Address: 63-64 O'Connell St, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lynam's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Budget Places, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lynam's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynams Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lynam's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.