We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff we've yet to encounter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Friendliest staff we've yet to encounter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel was great for us. We stayed for three nights as part of our day 10 day journey across Europe. The staff were very friendly. The hotel was clean and presentable. Rooms were comfortable and spacious which is a welcome find in Europe. We highly recommend staying here if you are ever in Dublin.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    259
    92
    42
    17
See reviews for
62
226
28
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in this fine city centre hotel and found the staff very friendly and focused on making my stay better. One person, the night porter, Cyril, was really helpful & engaging. A real bonus for this hotel to have people like this taking care of your customers.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our early morning arrival was anticipated beautifully and a room was ready for us. Unfortunately, though, the heating system was not working properly, so we were given a suite instead. It was very spacious and wonderfully well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the staff, especially Sian, was wonderfully kind and helpful. In addition to all this, being walking distance to Trinity College, Grafton Street, Christ Church, and sundry excellent restaurants such as Farm, made the hotel an outstanding place to stay. The breakfast buffet was ample to say the least and provided a very tasty beginning to the day. It's a great place to stay in Dublin, wonderful value all around.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived really early in the morning and technically weren't able to check in until 2pm. The lady at the desk worked her magic and got us into a room right then and there. It was wonderful beause we were extremely exhausted and needed some rest. The staff is so friendly the locations is perfect. Close enough to the city centre but far enough away that you don't have a noise problem. I would recommend this hotel to anyone swinging through Dublin. Also The Ginger Man pub in the corner across from the street is my favorite in all of Dublin!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were fortunate to be allocated a 'trial ' refurbished room during our stay. The standard of the from was very high being tastefully furnished and of a good size with a comfortable bed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful . The hotel overall had a very comfortable feel with a good ambience in the public areas.
Hotel very convenient for access to Grafton Street and Trinity College. Plenty of excellent restaurants nearby.
It was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a Christmas lunch last week in Alexander Hotel recently. I requested no vegetables with butter or cream to be served on my plate. Unfortunately my meal came with mash potatoes with butter. I complained to the Manager of the restaurant and was told that he didn't give me very much mash potatoes and that there was only a small amount of butter in the mash. He just walked away and turned his back on me. This was a pensioners XMas Party and he wasn't bothered with my request because I wasn't paying for this lunch. I asked if I could have ice cream for dessert and requested no chocolate ice cream. The dessert arrived with chocolate ice cream. This is supposed to be a four star hotel and this is the way I was treated. I would not recommend Alexander Hotel to my friends

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you'd like a great welcoming experience with very friendly and warm staff, you cannot go wrong with O'Callaghan. The staff is superb and very hospitable. The room could be tad tiny by American standards but perfectly okay by European standards. The hotel is walking distance from Trinity College and would be about a 20-25 minute walk to the Temple-bar area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Family Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dublin City centre O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel was the third hotel in the O'Callaghan Hotels group on the corner of Merrion Square. This luxury 4 star hotel in Dublin welcomes you into its spacious lobby where you will be greeted with a warm welcome. Located off one of the corners of Merrion Square, O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is close to the Georgian Squares where business and culture are intertwined and is only a few minutes walk from Trinity College and shopping street, Grafton Street. Our 4 star hotel offers luxury facilities, contemporary design and personalised service in these quiet surroundings in one of the most beautiful areas of city centre Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.