We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Mexico with an Irish accent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azteca

Azteca
19 - 21 Lord Edward Street, Dublin, Ireland
+353 (0)1 670-9476
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #465 of 1,891 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little bit of Mexico with an Irish accent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Whilst wandering around Dublin on a cold, cloudy, rainy (typical?) Irish wintry day we happened upon Cafe Azteca. We were about ten people, from 6 yrs. old to grandparents. We hungry and loving our Mexican food, so we stopped in. The menu was varied enough that we all found something we liked. The service was wonderful, the food picante, and yummy. The presentation was exquisite--which doesn't really matter if it doesn't taste good, but it was all authentic and delicious. All in all the experience was really great.

On our next trip to Dublin, Cafe Azteca will definitely be on our go-to list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    2
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“picked the wrong meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

maybe too authentic, very bland and soggy. but the owner was lovely and wanted to make up for our disappointing experience there and gave us complimentary chip n dips. He was also keen to show us following an early edition of following days newspaper with a resounding review of his establishment....all very well...but I didn't like it and I aint fussy! sorry

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truely authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I spent two months in mexico and on returning to Dublin found that too many of the so called Mexican restaurants only served Tex Mex. Azteca was a fantasically authentic alternative. Try the Tacos Al Pastor and make sure to ask for the Salsa muy picante.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pest, Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“hardly any flavor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were delighted to see they had gluten-free tacos and decided to give them a try. But everything was rather flavorless: the tomatoes, the guacamole, the meat, even the sauces.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had breakfast at Cafe Azteca this morning. The breakfast menu is simple but delicious! Highly recommend this little gem ...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azteca also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.