We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mulberry Garden

Mulberry Garden
Mulberry Lane | Donnybrook, Dublin 04, Ireland
+353 1 269 3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $47 - $47
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Modern Irish restaurant showcasing the best of Irish produce. Hidden away in the heart of Dublin 4. Unusually only open Thursday-Saturday inclusive from 6pm. In a throw back to the concept of the original fixed table d'hote menu our chefs develop an original menu each week offering a choice of two starters, one meat or fish main course and a dessert or cheese board for €42. Vegetarian guests are always accommodated with a separate weekly menu too.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was such a good night when we first try this restaurant in July. Excellent service, charming room, very good food. For sure, we will come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    20
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Found this on TA and from the reviews and website sounded very much like us.
Tried got find the menu then remembered that it changes each week dependent on availability.
Very impressed when we arrived, great visuals.
Menu offers three courses two choices per course. Your choice any two for €40. On offer was the entire menu as a tasting menu for €60. We took the tasting menu and were very glad we did.

Very relaxed service,, presentation excellent, explanation from the kitchen we found very helpful.

Overall one of our best meals.

We recommend very highly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Mouth-wateringly Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a hidden gem. You wouldn't even know it was here, hidden in a small lane way behind the Ulster Bank in Donnybrook, Dublin 4.

It's a great setting with a moderately sized restaurant hidden behind a pretty canopied garden.

They only open Thursday - Saturday and the menu change on a weekly basis. You can either have a three course menu for €40 or a full tasting menu for €60 pp. I imagine for people who've been here, there's a constant temptation to try the latest menu. We had the tasting menu so we got to try everything. I can't pick my favorite although I loved loved loved the fish and chip starter and the pistachio ice-cream.

The food is elegant and very much focused on the quality of the ingredients. Most of the ingredients seem to be sourced in Ireland Every mouthful was...mouthwatering.

We were too full to sample a cocktail in the garden but we will save that for next time.

It was easily of a quality to stand up against more expensive rivals like Chapter One and The Cliff House but the presentation lacks some of the... pretension of either - it's more substance over style.

I can't wait to go back again.

Pros

The food was out of this world. I had to refrain for actually licking the plate.
Staff are very attentive but not instructive.
Beautiful setting.

Cons

It's a little hidden away so easy to miss.


(Disclosure: I went here with my husband who had been invited by the restaurant to sample the menu. Our meal was comped. This in no way has influenced my review of the restaurant)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the better new places in D4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were a foursome on a busy Saturday night and were lucky to book, a day before, a table at about 8.45pm, though would have preferred earlier. The cosy bar is very inviting and includes draft beer so no need for lads to tank up in Kiely's beforehand! We liked it so much we had our digestif there on the way home!
There is only a table d'hote menu which is a little disappointing particularly as many diners nowadays prefer to eat one or two courses. The choice is limited - only two mains - but there is a vegetarian menu as well - so it might be a good idea to ask what the menu is before booking as fussy eaters could be upset.
Having said that most of the food was excellent, the only problem being over salted fish. On mentioning the excessive salt (having come across this before I wonder is it to cover up the blandness of farmed fish?) the maitre d' took off some of the charge for the food and gave us each a glass of dessert wine.
Service was friendly but leisurely, which i didn't have a problem with, but my better half did as she doesnt like eating after 10pm. The starters arrived promptly but there was a gap of about 45 minutes from when we finished the starters until the main course arrived. So if you dont fancy leisurely dont go for the second sitting on Saturday night - actually applies to many Dublin restaurants. It is only open Thursday to Saturday, dinner only at €40 per person. Wine is from €22 a bottle.
I feel this place will only get better and better and I will definitely return to witness that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in Dublin at the moment for me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

An unquie find, lovely bar for a re dinner drink! Staff are amazing, best of 120! In a unquie setting!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulberry Garden also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Mulberry Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulberry Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.