We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouth-wateringly Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mulberry Garden

Mulberry Garden
Mulberry Lane | Donnybrook, Dublin 04, Ireland
+353 1 269 3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 1,811 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $56 - $56
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Modern Irish restaurant showcasing the best of Irish produce. Hidden away in the heart of Dublin 4. Unusually only open Thursday-Saturday inclusive from 6pm. In a throw back to the concept of the original fixed table d'hote menu our chefs develop an original menu each week offering a choice of two starters, one meat or fish main course and a dessert or cheese board for €42. Vegetarian guests are always accommodated with a separate weekly menu too.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Mouth-wateringly Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a hidden gem. You wouldn't even know it was here, hidden in a small lane way behind the Ulster Bank in Donnybrook, Dublin 4.

It's a great setting with a moderately sized restaurant hidden behind a pretty canopied garden.

They only open Thursday - Saturday and the menu change on a weekly basis. You can either have a three course menu for €40 or a full tasting menu for €60 pp. I imagine for people who've been here, there's a constant temptation to try the latest menu. We had the tasting menu so we got to try everything. I can't pick my favorite although I loved loved loved the fish and chip starter and the pistachio ice-cream.

The food is elegant and very much focused on the quality of the ingredients. Most of the ingredients seem to be sourced in Ireland Every mouthful was...mouthwatering.

We were too full to sample a cocktail in the garden but we will save that for next time.

It was easily of a quality to stand up against more expensive rivals like Chapter One and The Cliff House but the presentation lacks some of the... pretension of either - it's more substance over style.

I can't wait to go back again.

Pros

The food was out of this world. I had to refrain for actually licking the plate.
Staff are very attentive but not instructive.
Beautiful setting.

Cons

It's a little hidden away so easy to miss.


(Disclosure: I went here with my husband who had been invited by the restaurant to sample the menu. Our meal was comped. This in no way has influenced my review of the restaurant)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    69
    16
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the better new places in D4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were a foursome on a busy Saturday night and were lucky to book, a day before, a table at about 8.45pm, though would have preferred earlier. The cosy bar is very inviting and includes draft beer so no need for lads to tank up in Kiely's beforehand! We liked it so much we had our digestif there on the way home!
There is only a table d'hote menu which is a little disappointing particularly as many diners nowadays prefer to eat one or two courses. The choice is limited - only two mains - but there is a vegetarian menu as well - so it might be a good idea to ask what the menu is before booking as fussy eaters could be upset.
Having said that most of the food was excellent, the only problem being over salted fish. On mentioning the excessive salt (having come across this before I wonder is it to cover up the blandness of farmed fish?) the maitre d' took off some of the charge for the food and gave us each a glass of dessert wine.
Service was friendly but leisurely, which i didn't have a problem with, but my better half did as she doesnt like eating after 10pm. The starters arrived promptly but there was a gap of about 45 minutes from when we finished the starters until the main course arrived. So if you dont fancy leisurely dont go for the second sitting on Saturday night - actually applies to many Dublin restaurants. It is only open Thursday to Saturday, dinner only at €40 per person. Wine is from €22 a bottle.
I feel this place will only get better and better and I will definitely return to witness that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in Dublin at the moment for me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

An unquie find, lovely bar for a re dinner drink! Staff are amazing, best of 120! In a unquie setting!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely restaurant out in Donnybrook that is full of charm. Attended a fundraising lunch here and the food and service were first class. It's a little off the beaten track but worth a visit out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I went to this restaurant when it was Ernies . It was always a nice place but the internal decor now is much better . Overall has the feeling of sophistication . Greeting properly on the way into the restaurant .Young but experienced waiters/ waitresses . Proper table clothes and large napkins. Tables facing the garden are very relaxing .The food is new ( I suppose ) French cuisine .Portions, as you would expect, are very small but then you do not go here for quantity. All served very well. It is a fixed menu for € 40 . Wine minimum over €25 .Overall excellent forany special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulberry Garden also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Mulberry Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulberry Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.