We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you pay for is definitely what you get!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bewleys At Newlands Cross

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bewleys At Newlands Cross to your Saves list
Bewleys At Newlands Cross
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Naas Road | Newlands Cross, Dublin 22, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“What you pay for is definitely what you get!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I booked this hotel as we were arriving late in Dublin Airport and wanted to be on the N7 side for an early start without rush hour traffic to contend with.
The Bar - We arrived at the hotel at 11.30 pm and got checked in quickly, and after quite a hectic journey, we dropped our bags and headed off to the Residents lounge for a relaxing drink. The sign on the Residents bar said “Closed at 12”. We still had 15 minutes, so no problem (Bank Holiday Monday – should be ok) the shutters were already all down, and there was just a small hatch open, ok, someone is getting ready to close, we hardly had our drink got when we got the distinct feeling that the barman was in a hurry to finish, so we ordered another and sat outside in the foyer!
The room – the room was clean, non smoking as we had requested and the bedlinen was fresh. The pillowcases were clean, however the pillows/pillow protectors were not, they were definitely in need of change – I wont go any further, The bathroom had just one set of towels, ie one hand, one bath, with the spare set being kept in the drawers in the bedroom, presumably the thinking is that only the one set will be used! There were no vanity items, no facecloth, no shower gel, the usual items you would expect, there was a bottle in the shower which doubled obviously as shampoo/shower gel. There was tea and coffee making facility which was grand and we had a room to the back so no noise.
Breakfast – this was pay as you pick per item or in our case we got a token which was 2 items from the cold section and a full irish with toast and tea. It was very basic, freshfruit , grapefruit, cereal, yoghurt , Juice and a very mediocre fry up, in fact a little dry if being truthful.
To sum up, the price is reasonable, but at a cost to other aspects of the hotel, it is dated and dull and needs a revamp, but of course the hotel industry is suffering badl . Would I stay there again, Honestly, no, I would book the next one up where we stayed before! It is nicer, friendlier, and more atmospheric. Still it was good to experience it to make an informed decision in future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    136
    87
    33
    27
See reviews for
105
88
23
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Bewleys was the first hotel I have ever attended in Ireland. I found it quite different than US hotels. The rate was fantastic as I paid an average of 63 Euro (tax included) for the three-night stay . The room was spartan with nearly no amenities, however, this is how they keep the price so reasonable. You get what you pay for, right? The hotel was reasonably clean and in a very convenient location on the N7. There's really nowhere nearby to grab a meal so we ate breakfast all three days and dinner once in the hotel. This is where some work needs to be done. The food and service is average, at best. The breakfast is a la cart (food similar to Hampton Inn buffet) and the dinner overpriced for the ambience and quality.

Bottom line, would I stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athy, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Lovely hotel with ample free car parking. We checked in early & there were no problems at all. Really friendly & helpful staff.

The hotel is located beside the busy N7 motorway but you cant hear a peep once inside the hotel! We stayed with 3 children under 3 years old & they all got a full nights sleep.

The bar has a great lively atmosphere unfortunately we didnt get to use it as we had young children to get to bed! Might have to go back again without the children to rectify this. The prices of the food were fantastic only €6 for a childrens menu & €9 for 2 courses. For adults all main courses including steaks were under €20. They also have a couple of great deals. 3 Courses for 2 & bottle of wine €25 pp (table d'hote menu & house wine). Or a real bargain of €50 for 2 adults, 2 children, 2 courses & tea/ coffee. Breakfast is also fresh & tasty at a good price.

The rooms are really spacious & spotless. The beds are very comfortable with prestine white bed linen. Bathrooms are also spotless. They have great eco water saving shower heads and in addition to this they have shower gel in a dispenser on the wall. Reducing the use of the small plastic bottles you see in other hotels.

Overall a great hotel, top marks. We will be back & we will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed here recently for Rugby Match at Croke Park. Reception staff were efficient, did their job but not with the best attitude. Room was for 4 adults, but it would have been very tight to fit that many people in the room. The room was clean but the natural light coming from the window was in a recess around the corner which made the room quite dingy. There was only one hand towel in the bathroom, so I rang reception for bath towels and was told it was in the spare towels drawer, which gave us 1 more bathtowel and a handtowel between three. The fair haired man, who spoke with a foreign accent on reception was basically not very helpful. Beds were really comfortable. Tea-making facilties were available in room. Easy enough to find parking space at hotel. Taxi to Luas from hotel was €8. We ate in the Restaurant that evening and I must admit, it was an excellent meal and good value for money (early bird). The children's menu had steak etc on it, and not your usual chips, burgers and sausages. I would certainly recommend eating here. Breakfast was ok, but a bit overpriced. Biggest disappointment was, the shower wasnt working in the room (which we didnt realised until the morning). I mentioned it at reception while paying, as i didnt want the next guests to be left without a shower, like we had been. The lady on reception insisted that we were not using it properly, but my husband and I both tried to get it going and there was no water coming out. Its an ok hotel, but a lesson in dealing with guests (for some of the reception staff) wouldnt go amiss.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMcKeown, Gráinne Mc Keown at Bewleys At Newlands Cross, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
I was disappointed to read that you did not totally enjoy your recent stay with us. I would like to have an opportunity to discuss your points if possible. I am sending an email directly to you with my contact details.

Kind Regards
Gráinne Mc Keown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Excellent value for a family room with 2 teenagers. Free parking, tea making facilities and free wifi. 5 minute drive to Luas where we got parking for the day. We hopped onto the Luas and got to Dublin city centre. We thought it was great value for money. Only problem - thought the room was too hot by night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMcKeown, General Manager at Bewleys At Newlands Cross, responded to this review, April 10, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for the time you took to write a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distanta future.

Kind Regards
Gráinne Mc Keown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

€75 for 2 but really no frills at all. We ate in the bar and the food was of poor quality and expensive for what it was. But what really shocked us that the bar closed at midnight. This was St. Patricks night, we got back to hotel around 12 and bar was closed, when we asked if there was a residents bar a blank no, and then asked if we could have a drink in the foyer, we were told no again with no apology (we were totally sober!, we had gone to event in O2, luas is a good 15min walk away). Room was basic and clean but next time I will try one of the others in the area as service was pretty poor and felt we might as well have been in a Bed & Breakfast and there are plenty of hotels in area offering same or lower rates. Disappointed really as always liked Bewley Hotels and found their service before quite good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

For the price it was well worth it. The hotel is outside of town and the tram station is a little too far to walk. If you have a car this place serves the purpose. We had someone bang on our door in the middle of the night and heard people carrying on in the hallway. The walls seem to be paper thin. The shower head is like standing in front of a mister at Disney so be preparedd to stand in the shower for a while. Overall the room was acceptable for what we needed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bewleys At Newlands Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bewleys At Newlands Cross

Address: Naas Road | Newlands Cross, Dublin 22, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bewleys At Newlands Cross 3*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Dublin's gateway to Ireland (M50/N7 jct.) Featuring FREE Wireless Internet access, Bewleys traditional hotel & Brasserie is the ideal meeting place or tourist base. Choose either a Double, Twin, Family or Wheelchair adapted room. All rooms comfortably accommodate 2 adults, or 2 adults & 3 children (under 16) in the family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Moran & Bewleys Hotel Group, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bewleys At Newlands Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys At Newlands Cross Hotel Dublin
Bewleys At Newlands Cross Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bewleys At Newlands Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.