We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Military History” 3 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Ireland - Decorative Arts & History

National Museum of Ireland - Decorative Arts & History
Benburb St., Dublin 7, Ireland (North City Centre)
353-1-677-7444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 218 Attractions in Dublin
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Decorative Arts & History is home to a wide range of objects, which include weaponry, furniture, silver, ceramics and glassware; as well as examples of folk life and costume.
Mayo,Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Military History”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had an hour to kill with my son, so jumped on th Luas and got off at Collins Barracks. It was a very short walk from the Luas. The Museum is very clean and has alot of staff and only one man spoke to me and my 5 year old son. My son found the military costumes and weaponry interesting, he loved the plane and the un tanks.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    151
    46
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh on Sea
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Marvellous museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our 'cultural' part of the trip to Dublin. A fantastic museum housed in the old barracks, with a tremendous selection of exhibits. Something for everyone! I loved the displays of furniture - old and new - and the costumes, while our menfolk were looking at old weaponry tanks, etc. It was lovely seeing some very modern design as well as ancient artifacts. As there is no charge for entry, this would be a great place to dip into for an hour or so, rather than feeling you have to look at everything in one visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Military History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent Military history of Ireland from early times to modern.Does not ignore the British Army connection to so many Irish families

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Nicely laid out and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I thought this was a well laid out museum, with particularly nice displays on silverware and clothes from over the centuries.
I especially liked the Curator's Choice exhibition, which looked at about 25 of the star pieces and explained why they had been chosen. Among them was the Fonthill vase.
I also like the "Out of Storage" exhibition which was an interesting mixture of antiquities.
A good stop whilst in Dublin.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A little history during you're stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We visited Collins Barracks Museum and spend a few hours learning a little history of Dublin. The 1916 room (Dublin 1916 Rising) is very well laid out and the exhibits are excellent. Well worth a visit

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Ireland - Decorative Arts & History also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Ireland - Decorative Arts & History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Ireland - Decorative Arts & History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.