We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an enjoyable exploration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Botanic Gardens

National Botanic Gardens
Botanic Road | Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland
353-1-837-7596
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 612 things to do in Dublin
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Letterkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Always an enjoyable exploration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I always try & visit the Botanic Gardens when in Dublin. Always a beautiful walk, be it in the height of summer or on a crisp frosty winter morning. Watch out for squirrels, they are not shy!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    253
    42
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Multyfarnham Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've been here a few times and just want to say it is a very nice place to go to if you have a little bit of interest in gardening and chocolate cake. I loved the sculptures that were there dotted around and I took lot of pictures that I see every day as my screen saver. I ran out of camera battery last time I was there, so i'm planning a visit very soon. A few days ago, I asked my two girls would they like to go to the Botanic Gardens again and yes was the answer, "Can we get a cake after the walk". and "I hope they have the Sunflower maze again". She doesn't know she is probably after getting too tall for the maze. Looking forward to it, even writing this is urging me to go as soon as poss.....

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The gardens boast an impressive variety of plants and are very wel kept. The victorian glass houses have been beautifully renovated. The gardens are a bit outside of the city centre but can be easily accessed by bus (routes 4, 83, 83A or 9 from the city centre, just ask the driver for the stop nearest to the gardens, which is 1 min walk from the entrance). Would definitely recommend. If you feel hungry after the walk, the tea rooms have very nice scones as well as a variety of pastries and hot food.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Bots!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What bad thing can anyone say about the Botanic Gardens - just spectacular. Nice place to have a lunch too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A lovely stroll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This attraction on the outskirts of the city provides a quiet and educational oasis for a peaceful afternoon. Make sure to visit the glasshouses for the tropical selections.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Botanic Gardens also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to National Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Botanic Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.