We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hall and some interesting relics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hall

City Hall
Dame Street | Cork Hill, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
353-1-672-2204
Improve this listing
Visit City Hall like an insider
Top Rated
$69*
and up
The Dublin Pass
Ranked #201 of 612 things to do in Dublin
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A nice hall and some interesting relics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We only visited here as we had entrance included in our Dublin passes the exhibit wasn't too interesting other than the few ceremonial items such as the city swords the mace, the ceremonial robes and the city seals. I don't think we'd of payed the entrance fee otherwise but we enjoyed a flying visit snapped a few pics and moved on upstairs to see the impressive hall so an enjoyable visit probably so because it was included in our passes so defiantly stop by if you have the passes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    36
    23
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
168 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

A stunning building with an impressive interior, but the exhibition downstairs was very disappointing - too much detail and too little interaction. However, it was the staff who let the whole thing down - we visited as part of a group - the security staff in the Hall were unaware of our visit (though very friendly) whilst the volunteers running the exhibition really weren't helpful at all - we had not been made aware that we had to pay with cash on arrival (they didn't accept pre-payment form our tour operator) and despite our booking being at 4pm, we were clearly not welcome half an hour later (lights being turned off, staff talking about closing up for the day etc). This site should be an ambassador for what Dublin has to offer, but it falls short.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Iowa
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Nice to stop by”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were there on a Saturday while we were walking around the City Centre, so all we could do was see the main entry, but it was worth stopping by to see. There were statues of several important historical figures, a weird but colorful mural, and huge doors.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dublin History Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent guide; despite rain kept everyone's attention. Important to understand Ireland and Dublin's place in history.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fine Seat of City Government”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The main entrance hall of City Hall is a beautiful piece of architecture. It is open to the public and there is no charge. It has a commanding presence at the top of Parliament Street and is located close to Dublin Castle and Christchurch Cathedral.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Hall also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.