We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heading back to the Generator for the 2nd time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Generator Hostel Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Generator Hostel Dublin to your Saves list
Generator Hostel Dublin
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heading back to the Generator for the 2nd time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at the Generator last September ( 2012 ). It was the first time I ever tried a Hostel and I was very impressed. Secured access to the building. You must have a key card just to get into the building and to use the elevators. They have a door guard on the weekends. My room was clean, and the community bathroom was very well kept up. I am heading back to Dublin again this August and have already booked another room with them. It's truly a great value! Looking forward to going back!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $20 to get a private room if you're traveling with a small group. It's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you are returning back to us in August and thank you for all the wonderful comments.

See you in August.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    291
    90
    42
    15
See reviews for
48
111
162
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utila, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Location, location, location.
I was able to walk everywhere from this hostel, they have very helpful, friendly staff.
The rooms and lobby are very clean.
I left my backpack when I went to travel Ireland without having to pay anything.
The bar is well stocked.
Worth every penny, I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Dublin Generator. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely comments.

Hope to see you in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is amazing! It's really cool, rooms are clean and I loved all the facilities and how lively the lobby was. Good bar, computer (though I'd rather use mac or Windows... Couldn't understand how to download my photos onto my hard drive)....location is good too, just a few steps from the Smithfield tram station that can take you to Oconnell street easily if you have to catch the Airlink bus to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you in the near future.

We have 24-hour reception so on your next visit please do not hesitate to seek assistance for anything you need.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

WOW!!

This hostel is unreal! Everything about it was a plus. We paid an amazing price, it was a steal!
I stayed here with a group of four we had a private room with its own washroom. Both room and washroom were extremely clean upon arrival. If you have forgotten anything much is for sale at the front desk for a little cost.
They provide a contention breakfast in the morning which is good, your average one but it saves you the time trying to find a breakfast place.
The atmosphere of the hostel is amazing there are always people around enjoying the free wifi, bar, pool tables!!
The staff are also very helpful and willing to share where to go and not go with you.

This hostel is found right beside the Jameson Dis. so it's easy to get to from the Hop on Hop Off

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you had a good time here in Dublin with us and I will share all your positive comments with the team here.

We hope to welcome you back to the Generator in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

the hostel itself is nice but what happened there appalls me. As a group of 42 i thought that we earnt some respect, 3 girls in the group were singing in a corridor which was almost completely occupied by our group at 2am. the security guard came and warned them and then 20 seconds later before the 'warning' could even have a chance to work, he kicked them out onto the street. He left 3 drunk girls on the street at 3am. this puts them in danger and i cannot explain as the group leader how angry i was at this. there was of course no where for them to go and therefore they spent the night on the street until 7am when we smuggled them back in.Staff there arent the brightest sparks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Generator Dublin. In order for me to reply to your message I will need to investigate this further.

I would appreciate if you would email me the details of your stay to maureen.meegan@generatorhostels.com.

Regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My friend and I needed a place to sleep for our short trip to Dublin and this hostel did the job. We had a private, two-person room, for a very affordable price. They emptied the trash every day. The first morning, the shower had terrible clogging problems. We reported it to the desk and they fixed it perfectly by the next day. It was overall a positive, clean experience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice location and nice bar, BUT: it is not a real hostel related to the service. They have a very small kitchen and it is only open from 5 to 8 pm. Therefore, you are not allowed to make your own breakfast, they through you out. And no own drinks are allowed in the hostel. Not really a service you expect from a hostel!!! We had to go one floor down to the bathroom, not many showers and not really clean. There are better hostels in Dublin for the same price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We appreciate your comments and have shared all feedback with the team.

Regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generator Hostel Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.