We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Generator Hostel Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Generator Hostel Dublin to your Saves list
Generator Hostel Dublin
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Horsham, Australia
2 reviews
“Nice and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed Three nights everything you need is here a stunning bar for a drink and a nice menu for a bite to eat. Excellent customer service great computer and WiFi. Clean and very tidy bedrooms and bathrooms. Not that far from Temple Bar. Forget a towel or a toothbrush they have some for purchase i would recommend this Hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    352
    112
    49
    20
See reviews for
56
123
200
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Started our travels through Europe with a stop in Dublin. The Generator is a newer hostel with modern facilities and a pub on the ground floor. Our stay here was somewhat tainted by our roommates - two girls who insisted on snuggling up in one bunk watching movies in the dark - day and night and would not let us turn the light on for most of our stay. We knew they could speak English because they did so to the other two girls in the room on occasion but were rude and unwelcoming to us. This would be no fault of the hostel itself. The staff here was helpful, gave great directions and called our cab for a morning trip to the port. We stayed in a 6 bed room en suite but because of our roommates - left the room to use the public bathrooms as they had their belonging thrown about and had dirtied up the bathroom in our room - the public facilities were clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor where you could easily hear the "thumping" of the music fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent post on the Generator Hostel. We are delighted that you liked the hostel and found it modern.

If you ever wish to return to Dublin please contact us directly to book one of our double/twin rooms which are all ensuite in order to enjoy some privacy.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Such a nice hostel! The room was great and reasonably priced. Staff was nice. Free wifi, outlets by bed. 2 euros for a towel. Great location

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you recent review on the Generator Hostel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the hostel enjoyable.

Please contact us directly if you wish to visit Dublin again.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Bright neons and a huge bar area that might get busy... The room was huge. Offer a single price for twin room which is great. The room was spotless as was the ensuite... Except for the shower... Which was disgusting. The whole thing was covered in mold. The corners were black. Shocking. I took some photos on my phone and showed the guy on the front desk who was very happy to send someone up yo clean the shower during the day. The shower was cleaned reasonably well but they still missed bits. It was the stark contrast with the rest of the room that made it seem worse.

The only other issue is the laundry... Don't bother trying to use it. They have two washers and two dryers. The dryers don't work. They will cook up your clothes for a couple of hours and you get them back wet and warm. Only two washers for a 200(?) Bed hostel is not enough, especially when their all monopolised by the house keeping staff washing linen 24/7.

Otherwise a good hostel out of the city a bit so a little quieter.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Generator Hostel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

However, I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments to resolve the issues you experienced.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I read all these bad reviews about the Generator Hostel in Dublin, but I thougt that it was just people who never went to a hostel before who got shocked, that were writing this. "If only I'm happy and nice, the staff want be total jerks like the descriptions in the bad comments." Well, we were wrong. Our rooms were mixed up, and the first night we had to wait until 5 in the morning before they could give us a bed. And they did not appologize or give us anything else than an awkward eye, but promised to fix this. The next day the same problem occured. The 8-bed dorm had 10 people in it and our beds were taken. It also smelled like somone died in the room. Never EVER stay in a dorm. The place would be great with a private suite or a private room, but never EVER go to this horrible place if you can avoid it. Long story short: we booked in to another place and left. We never even heard from the manager even they knew how bad we were treated. Almost ruined our holiday, but then we went to our new place and had the greatest vacation. Now I guess there will be a defensive appology/explanation from some person working at the Hostile hostel underneath my review. Dont fall for it. I did! And they DONT HAVE A FRIDGE. AND YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO BRING FOOD OR DRINK HERE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. If you must pay for this, you could basically pay for a better place to stay. I loved Dublin btw! Next year were going to Galway <3

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Generator Dublin.

It is our policy to respond to all reviews that are posted about our property and we take guest's feedback very seriously.

Given the extreme disappointment you experienced during your stay we would welcome the opportunity to speak directly with you.

I can be contacted on maureen.meegan@generatorhostels.com

Regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Generator Hostel in Dublin in a double room ensuit. The room was simple but very nice, big, very clean and with a very confortable bed. The staff was very nice and helpful. We asked to change room because they initially gave us a twin, and they changed it with no problem. Breakfast is to be paid extra, but it's excellent for just 4€. It's not very close to the main areas, but the Luas it's just next door.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Generator Dublin.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hostel was more like a hotel! The decor is amazing and there's free wifi and a cheap bar. Its in a great location which is right near the Jameson's Disterilly. You have a Luas stop right round the corner which costs 1.60euros to get into town. You also have the tour bus stop and the stop for the airlink bus 747 to the airport right near by too. The staff are friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location suitable to your needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generator Hostel Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.