We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is probably the smallest wonder of the world, but it is a wonder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Book of Kells

The Book of Kells
Long Library | Trinity College, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
01-608-2320
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$15*
and up
Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity...
Ranked #66 of 217 Attractions in Dublin
Type: Libraries, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Book of Kells is a world famous illuminated manuscript written in Latin of the Gospels from the Bible. It was painstakingly hand-written and illustrated by monks around 800 A.D.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“this is probably the smallest wonder of the world, but it is a wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ok so its not the oldest or the biggest of these types of books, (see the national museum for these) but the experience the setting and the book richly deserve the accolades, unfortunately you don't get to leaf through the book its self which is understandable, but regardless of which page has been opened that day it will be beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    188
    147
    62
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We went there based on advice. We payed the 9 euro each price tag and went in. The exhibits were good and informative but for what it was 9 euro is a extraordinary amount of money. The clincher for worst tourist attraction for me was the no pictures rule in the upstairs library. I can understand the book but the library should be free to take photos. The only reason this is in place up there is to ensure people buy the overpriced merchandise in the gift shop. Save the money and go do the prison tour at Kilmainham.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“excellent if you like this type of thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is really cool if you like history, art or books. If not it might not be worth it.

There is an exhibit where you can read about the history of the books and what we know about the artistry, then you go into a dimly lit room with the books open in a glass box.
The artwork is amazing
You then go upstairs to the Old library which to me is a magical place.
there is a cost (around 10 euro, check the website), and a gift shop.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Long Room......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our family of four went to Trinity College to see the Book of Kells. it was a very good attraction, lots to read and see. However, the most amazing part for us was The Long Room. it is like something out of Harry Potter, the Great Hall. I believe it is based on this. Unfortunately, no photos are permitted but I would still encourage you to visit to see the scale the feel the sense of history the room contains. the Book of Kells was very interesting, the workmanship so intricate.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great place for library buffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We got to the Book of Kells exhibit after a seven-mile walking tour of Dublin led by a friend, who left us and went home. We thought we'd be too exhausted to really enjoy the exhibit, but that was wrong.

There's something amazing about being right next to an object so ancient, yet with so much meaning. And it isn't just the Book of Kells -- the library where it is housed has so many fine old volumes. Nothing else smells like a hundreds-of-years-old library -- it just thrills me.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Book of Kells also viewed

 

Been to The Book of Kells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Book of Kells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.