We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eerie, yet important place in Irish History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glasnevin Cemetery Museum

Glasnevin Cemetery Museum
Finglas Road, Dublin 11, Ireland
+353 1 882 6550
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #4 of 276 attractions in Dublin
Type: Cemeteries, Museums
Attraction Details
Astoria, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Eerie, yet important place in Irish History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A somber, yet enlightened visit to the resting place of so many heroes of the battles for Irish Independence.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,141
    206
    48
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best tour available in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

From the minute we walked in we got a very warm welcome from every member of staff. Museum is excellent as you get to go around it at your own pace. The guided tour of the cemetery has to be one of the best tours I have ever done. Our tour guide Laura was friendly, knowledgeable and explained everything so well.
I would recommend everyone to do this tour when in Dublin as it is full of history.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We took the bus from Dublin to Glasnevin which was very direct. The young woman at the front desk was not very friendly, she just answered our questions and returned quickly to whatever she was doing on her computer. That being said, we purchased the sound tours that we listened to as we walked around. I have to say if it was a bit warmer, we would have enjoyed it more but that is our of our control! There is a lot of walking but if you know anything about Irish history, it is worth a visit, just to pay respects to those who have played such an important part in Ireland's history.

We had a hard time finding some graves but I asked someone and they walked me right to it.
The display in the museum and upstairs was very informative. There was a volunteer upstairs that was really kind and helpful...sorry, I did not get his name. The lower level, we followed someone around who was skypeing with a class in Germany, so we found out a bit of information from following him around.

If you have time and you are interested in Irish history, I would encourage you to visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Glasnevin tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I would highly recommend this tour,we had an excellent guide today(Bridget),she has an amazing knowledge of Irish history.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glasneven Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We attended a tour of Glasneven Cemetery with a extremely knowledgeable tour guide. The tour was enjoyable as so much information was shared by the guide.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glasnevin Cemetery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Glasnevin Cemetery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasnevin Cemetery Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glasnevin Cemetery Museum to your Saves list