We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guided tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glasnevin Cemetery Museum

Glasnevin Cemetery Museum
Finglas Road, Dublin 11, Ireland
+353 1 882 6550
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$15*
and up
Ranked #3 of 217 Attractions in Dublin
Type: Cemeteries, Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glasnevin Cemetery and Museum are both the guardians and storytellers for over 1.5 million people. From the ordinary to the truly extraordinary, these people helped shape the Ireland of today. We want to share their stories and times with you through tours of the cemetery, a visit to the museum or through a genealogy search for your family history. We are a not-for-profit organisation and all proceeds are used to sustain and improve our cemeteries to ensure they are places of beauty, interest and intrigue.
Geraldton, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great guided tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I generally prefer to bumble around alone than suffer through a guided tour, but this one I highly recommend! Our guide was excellent and the the stories she told were fascinating. Our kids were perhaps a little young (9 & 12) to fully comprehend the information presented during tour.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,414
    274
    61
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I visited last weekend. Dublin was warm and sunny, and the museum and tour simply splendid. Uplifting, cheerful reviews of cemeteries must be rare. I visited Eva Peron's cemetery in Buenos Aires, Glasnevin was up there and beyond. A truly memorable experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I did the Glasnevin Cemetery tour on Tuesday. The staff in the shop were very nice, I was looking for one particular grave and he said he would mark it on a map for me, when I came back after the tour. Brigid was the lady who gave the tour and she was brilliant, it was fascinating listening to her and she knew so much about the place, and was able to get this across in a very good way. I was embarassed by how little of our history I knew, I've since bought some history books after being inspired by her!! Well worth a visit, great day.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Guided tour recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very interesting experience. The guided tour (by Laura) was brilliant. She was both entertaining and knowledgeable and introduced us to all the famous dead.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Museum is OK, Cemetary is amazing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

When you visit Glasnevin it is to visit the Cemetary not the museum. Don't get me wrong the museum is a good starting point but the cemetary is the jewel in the crown. Do not merely wander around the cemetary you will miss too much take the guided tour.... and spend a little bit of time in the museum. Nice cafe there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glasnevin Cemetery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Glasnevin Cemetery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasnevin Cemetery Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.