We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit if you are in Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glasnevin Cemetery Museum

Glasnevin Cemetery Museum
Finglas Road, Dublin 11, Ireland
+353 1 882 6550
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$15*
and up
Ranked #2 of 218 Attractions in Dublin
Type: Cemeteries, Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glasnevin Cemetery and Museum are both the guardians and storytellers for over 1.5 million people. From the ordinary to the truly extraordinary, these people helped shape the Ireland of today. We want to share their stories and times with you through tours of the cemetery, a visit to the museum or through a genealogy search for your family history. We are a not-for-profit organisation and all proceeds are used to sustain and improve our cemeteries to ensure they are places of beauty, interest and intrigue.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit if you are in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We got a present of a family ticket wasn't quite sure what the day would amount too.
However it was the best day trip in a long while. We went on valentines day & whether by accident or design our guide entertained us with love stories of the famous Irish people below our feet. It was an enjoyable day and worth every penny ( euro )..
Well done NIall ( tour guide ) your delivery & enthusiasm was exceptional

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,421
    274
    62
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ISL signed tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Brilliant! Went on sign language tour with tour guide, fabulous history & grounds.

Very good information centre with a small museum

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A wealth of knowledge from the dead.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We visited the Museum and Cemetry on a very cold Monday morning but what a treat. We had breakfast first in the museum cafe which was excellent value and very tasty. We had a look around the museum which is very interesting and the screens upstairs are fantastic, so much info at your finger tips I could have stayed hours. Paddy our Guide then took us on an informative tour round the Cemetery, he was brilliant, he must know something about every person whi is buried in that cemetery, he went over and beyond the level of a guide. My partner was trying to find his Dads grave, so Paddy told us to go into reception and that the Staff would find it for us (which they did) He said for us to give him a shout when we were ready and he would take us to the grave, which he did. A realy good place to visit, which gives an insite into the History and Politics of Ireland without taking sides.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t. Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“my husband wandered upon it on an early morning walk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

While touring Dublin, my husband began each day with an early morning walk. I love old cemeteries. My husband wandered across the prospect cemetery one morning.
I, being back in the states, loved it when I instantly received text with pic of these century old monuments. Each are elaborate and peer over when strolling through. Needles to say, his pic instantly became on wallpaper on my phone. Too cool.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Everyone should take this tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Bridget, our tour guide was just wonderful, charming, informative and just loves her subject. It was a cold day but I was so busy listening to Bridget I forgot about the weather. There is so much history in that cemetery and I learnt so much.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glasnevin Cemetery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Glasnevin Cemetery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasnevin Cemetery Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.