We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly enjoyable - even in the rain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glasnevin Cemetery Museum

Glasnevin Cemetery Museum
Finglas Road, Dublin 11, Ireland
+353 1 882 6550
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #3 of 264 attractions in Dublin
Type: Cemeteries, Museums
Attraction Details
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable - even in the rain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The two of us took a tour yesterday with Laura - we couldn't believe it had taken us locals so long to get around to it!

Our guide was pleasant, funny and incredibly well informed on Irish history and its relationship to the cemetery - we felt that we could have asked her anything! After first asking our group if there were any specific places/people in the cemetery that we would like to visit, we set off on a walking tour of the cemetery, seeing almost every figurehead Ireland has to offer. She took the time at each stop to explain the historical, cultural and political relevance of each person, including very interesting modern-day facts on how the sites and anniversaries were being treated by members of the public.

Highly recommended - an educational and enjoyable experience for tourists and locals!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,048
    181
    43
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Did the tour today,didnt think it would be our thing.Have to say we really enjoyed it!Bridget our tour guide was great..i learnt more off her in 2 hours than i did in my history classes in school .We found it very informative would now go back to the cemetary and have a better look around in the summer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
“Glasnevin Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I would highly recommend this tour. I was a bit reluctant initially. Did I really want to spend two hours in a cemetery? I did not feel the time. Bridget, the tour guide was so interesting and informative. We had a light lunch afterwards. All were happy.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Here the dead are brought back to glorious life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Having had it on my list of places to see for a long time, it was with relief that I was finally there that I entered Glasnevin Cemetery and Museum on a cold Sunday in January. And what a delight awaited us - a fantastic museum that was interesting and accessible, anticipating the interest levels of the different people that might visit and how much they might want to read or view. The history of the cemetery itself is presented through video, artefacts, sound and images and gives a great introduction to visitors to the multi-cultural and all-embracing nature of this unique all-denominational burial grounds. Along with those of some fame and none, are some of the best known names in Irish history. The flick of a touch screen allows you read more about these while the majority of a floor is - rightly - given over to detailing the life of the Liberator, Daniel O'Connell, who was a man of huge international importance - something I had forgotten despite being a fellow Kerry person! He was the founder of the cemetery, among many other things, and his life's work and colour is presented in a very engaging way. People can also get details on family members that might be buried in Glasnevin and the ticket in entitles you to a discount on that search. When we were all historied out we headed for the Tower Cafe for refreshments which were fine - nothing too exciting despite the many cookery books that were strategically placed around the place - a bit more innovation here would be welcome.
There are guided tours during the day of the cemetery itself which is a fabulous place - a garden and home for the dead - and the one I joined was full of information and humour - a good mix for those of us still on this side of the great divide.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“interesting genealogy centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

very interesting for your genealogy. you can use their computers to search the records. the tour is a very good one-lots of history involved. it is being restored so all the very old tomb stones are getting a makeover and making the cemetery look a much better place. if thats possible with a cemetery. most of my irish relatives are buried there so i visit every time i go to dublin.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glasnevin Cemetery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Glasnevin Cemetery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasnevin Cemetery Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.