We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin

Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin
St. Michael's Hill | Christ Church, Dublin 8, Ireland
353 1 6794611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 285 Attractions in Dublin
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dublinia is one of Dublin’s top visitor attractions with three exciting exhibitions all located at the historic crossroads of Dublin. There are three exciting exhibitions; Viking Dublin and Medieval Dublin recreate the city through life size reconstructions, including a Viking house and a medieval fair while Death and Disease are also investigated. Finally unearth the city’s past at the new interactive History Hunters exhibition, visit an excavation site, and see medieval bugs under the microscope in the Lab. See Dublin from a new perspective and come away knowing more about its citizens throughout the ages!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 NEW

It was interesting but not really a must see. I remember when they had live interaction, actors who played the part and you walked through a re enactment of a viking village. That was much more memorable and fun. My kids still talk about it today and we did that 15 yrs ago. They should do that again.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    305
    101
    25
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun and interactive ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014 NEW

This was a fun and interactive experience learning about the history of Dublin. The exhibits made it fun and easy to read along. They weren't long and boring like some museums. A well put together museum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“kind of corny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014 NEW

ok, but corny...has the same history of dublin you can get elsewhere, highlight was climbing tower (96 steps, not bad) for lovely views and the building bridge that connect building to christ cathedral.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 NEW

Myself and my husband came to visit here, and we thoroughly enjoyed being able to learn interactively. I must admit, I do struggle reading and looking at everything in museums and such like, however this place was different, we made rubbings of our names. Hubby dressed up as well as the games such as guess the scent and hoopla as well as learning. Thoroughly enjoyable!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fun learning for all ages!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

This museum was suggested to us by a friend on our way into Dublin. We were very impressed with the Dublinia. There is information on the vikings for every age. You can read the big print if you want the overview but there is more in smaller print if you want more in-depth information. There were many interactive exhibits for people of all ages. We spent about an hour and a half exploring about the vikings. There is a great exhibit upstairs about archaeology and how they dig and uncover new sites. You can climb a tower at the top and see the whole city. There is a nice gift shop and cafe' at the top of the museum. You exit into down and into the entrance to Christchurch Cathedral. You can also purchase a combination ticket that gets you into both the museum and the cathedral.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin also viewed

 

Been to Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.