We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Trip Back in Time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin

Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin
St. Michael's Hill | Christ Church, Dublin 8, Ireland
353 1 6794611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 284 Attractions in Dublin
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dublinia is one of Dublin’s top visitor attractions with three exciting exhibitions all located at the historic crossroads of Dublin. There are three exciting exhibitions; Viking Dublin and Medieval Dublin recreate the city through life size reconstructions, including a Viking house and a medieval fair while Death and Disease are also investigated. Finally unearth the city’s past at the new interactive History Hunters exhibition, visit an excavation site, and see medieval bugs under the microscope in the Lab. See Dublin from a new perspective and come away knowing more about its citizens throughout the ages!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sayville, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Nice Trip Back in Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A good basic overview of Viking Dublin but not deep enough for someone serious about history. Still worth a stop if you can fit it in.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    288
    93
    26
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun and educational visit to Dublinia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I've lived in Dublin all my life but had never visited Dublinia before. We went with our two boys (aged 5 & 7). We all really enjoyed it - both boys found different things interesting and there's a really good balance between fun / interactive and educational.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Educational and good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great to take kids to as it is educational about history as well as being good fun. Great to do on a rainy Sunday afternoon in Dublin.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for primary aged children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The well laid out and interesting attraction provided a fun hour for myself and two teenagers. There's lots of interactive activities and some interesting information about the city. As a teacher, though, I thought it would make a fantastic school visit for primary aged children as that was generally the level of information on offer - no great depth of information.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Vikings on the toilet- great interactive museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I visited with a group of student friends on a university trip to Dublin. The exhibit was high quality, informative both for children and big kids such as ourselves.

Dublinia is wonderfully set out and takes you on a visual journey through the ages from Viking invaders founding Dublin right through to Medieval times. The last floor shows how archaeologists pieced together the history of Dublin. You can experience what it was like to live in a viking's house, walk through a medieval street and medieval market with stalls selling all sorts of oddities.

Lots of activities to keep adults and children entertained. We had lots of fun trying on helmets and viking clothes, throwing 'rotten tomatoes' at waxworks charged for stealing bread and we all stopped to make rubbings of our names in Viking runes.

Although at times the exhibition verged on being a bit cheesy and geared more towards children then adults, we loved it nonetheless. We especially had a belly laugh at the viking waxwork groaning on the toilet- although I can understand some may find him a bit much. We can only deduce that the viking diet was at times lacking in fiber.

For an additional 2 euros you can also visit the Christchurch Cathedral through the exit of Dublonia. We didn't as we ran out of time, but it was great value for money. I'd love to visit again when I'm next in Dublin.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin also viewed

 

Been to Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.