We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my catastrophe of a journey into the wilderness of Dublinia.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin

Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin
St. Michael's Hill | Christ Church, Dublin 8, Ireland
353 1 6794611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 277 attractions in Dublin
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dublinia is one of Dublin’s top visitor attractions with three exciting exhibitions all located at the historic crossroads of Dublin. There are three exciting exhibitions; Viking Dublin and Medieval Dublin recreate the city through life size reconstructions, including a Viking house and a medieval fair while Death and Disease are also investigated. Finally unearth the city’s past at the new interactive History Hunters exhibition, visit an excavation site, and see medieval bugs under the microscope in the Lab. See Dublin from a new perspective and come away knowing more about its citizens throughout the ages!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
“my catastrophe of a journey into the wilderness of Dublinia.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

it was awful,just awful my good sir! i was not embraced with a warm cup of cocoa when i entered the vacinity and a devlishly tasty scone :( i asked to purchase a buttered crumpet in the book shop but they told me they did not have any...i was displeased with this service. i hope to see an improvement when i return from catalona island (my country).Me and my minions will vacate dublinia if there are no scones,crumpets or hot cups of cocoa. i promise you my unlawful boy i am mad! they would not accept my local currency,the dime, im annoyed!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    256
    84
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-mare
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very interesting and well worth it. cheap admission. do you know Rover (Car) Logo from Vikings ? Great information for Adults and Children

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A little bit of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A nicely put together experience of Viking and Medieval Dublin. As informative for adults as it is for kids.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to bring the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a wonderful place to learn about how Dublin started out as a Viking settlement and tells you about its history up until the Medieval period. It is good if you've family or friends with different languages a they had translations at the desk.

For teachers, they offer a tour to kids with a guide dressed up in re-enactment costume to give them an added feature to the tour. They also have public tours during the day, otherwise it is self guided.

I would recommend to take your time around it and really read everything otherwise you won't learn anything. It should take an hour and you can get a dual ticket to visit the adjoining Christchurch Cathedral which you can enter through the bridge that joins the two buildings.

It is near Guinness Storehouse, across the river from St. Michans Church and not too far from Kilmainham Gaol and Dublin Zoo if you wanted to make a day out of it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ideal for adults and children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very well done museum for children and adults. It is very interactive and informative. You truly get a sense of Viking history and culture as well as medieval Dublin.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin to your Saves list