We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to bring the kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin

Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin
St. Michael's Hill | Christ Church, Dublin 8, Ireland
353 1 6794611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 276 attractions in Dublin
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dublinia is one of Dublin’s top visitor attractions with three exciting exhibitions all located at the historic crossroads of Dublin. There are three exciting exhibitions; Viking Dublin and Medieval Dublin recreate the city through life size reconstructions, including a Viking house and a medieval fair while Death and Disease are also investigated. Finally unearth the city’s past at the new interactive History Hunters exhibition, visit an excavation site, and see medieval bugs under the microscope in the Lab. See Dublin from a new perspective and come away knowing more about its citizens throughout the ages!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to bring the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a wonderful place to learn about how Dublin started out as a Viking settlement and tells you about its history up until the Medieval period. It is good if you've family or friends with different languages a they had translations at the desk.

For teachers, they offer a tour to kids with a guide dressed up in re-enactment costume to give them an added feature to the tour. They also have public tours during the day, otherwise it is self guided.

I would recommend to take your time around it and really read everything otherwise you won't learn anything. It should take an hour and you can get a dual ticket to visit the adjoining Christchurch Cathedral which you can enter through the bridge that joins the two buildings.

It is near Guinness Storehouse, across the river from St. Michans Church and not too far from Kilmainham Gaol and Dublin Zoo if you wanted to make a day out of it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    254
    83
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boxborough, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ideal for adults and children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very well done museum for children and adults. It is very interactive and informative. You truly get a sense of Viking history and culture as well as medieval Dublin.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yikes!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a disaster! I can put up with hokey recreations to a point, but this is barely even a children's museum. The worst part is the audio attack. Every display has its own incredibly loud audio blasting so that each exhibit is talking over (or making farting noises over) the ones before and after it. The cacophony was just brutal!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary-ThereseB, Marketing Manager at Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Apologies if you felt that you did not enjoy your visit to Dublinia. We would describe ourselves as a museum for all ages and for the majority, we would hope that our visitors' would agree with us, but we welcome all feedback. Thank you for your point on the sound issues and we will do our best to work on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It can be hard trying to find activities that will impress a teenage boy and also keep his younger "tween" brother excited and engaged. This place is one of those activities. And I really enjoyed it too! There's lots of information, but interspersed with hands on activities...writing names in Norman writing, taking rubbings, fair ground games, dressing up...a big hit is the man on the toilet!!

I also really enjoyed teaching my two charges for the day about the Wood Quay controversy using the information from the third floor. Imagine how far these discoveries could have brought us if only politics had not destroyed it. Such a shame. It's important that the next generation are taught about this so that it can be avoided in the future.

The walk up the tower isn't as tough as we had expected and the view is cool (although if you aren't very fit or find stairs difficult, you aren't missing too much, we don't have a particularly dramatic skyline in Dublin!)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary-ThereseB, Marketing Manager at Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Sounds like you really enjoyed Dublinia which is great news to our ears!
We at Dublinia agreee with your point regarding the Wood Quay controversy, we see it as one of the highlights of our History Hunters exhibition in terms of the future importance of protecting our archaeology.
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“V. Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Took my daughter and her friend here last Sunday and they had a ball. It was entertaining engaging and educational rolled into one and a great day out for under 20 euro ! Really recommend it esp for their age group 8-9 year old. They was so much interactive stuff to do which they loved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin to your Saves list