We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin
St. Michael's Hill | Christ Church, Dublin 8, Ireland
353 1 6794611
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #51 of 263 attractions in Dublin
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dublinia is one of Dublin’s top visitor attractions with three exciting exhibitions all located at the historic crossroads of Dublin. There are three exciting exhibitions; Viking Dublin and Medieval Dublin recreate the city through life size reconstructions, including a Viking house and a medieval fair while Death and Disease are also investigated. Finally unearth the city’s past at the new interactive History Hunters exhibition, visit an excavation site, and see medieval bugs under the microscope in the Lab. See Dublin from a new perspective and come away knowing more about its citizens throughout the ages!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yikes!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a disaster! I can put up with hokey recreations to a point, but this is barely even a children's museum. The worst part is the audio attack. Every display has its own incredibly loud audio blasting so that each exhibit is talking over (or making farting noises over) the ones before and after it. The cacophony was just brutal!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary-ThereseB, Marketing Manager at Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Apologies if you felt that you did not enjoy your visit to Dublinia. We would describe ourselves as a museum for all ages and for the majority, we would hope that our visitors' would agree with us, but we welcome all feedback. Thank you for your point on the sound issues and we will do our best to work on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    219
    74
    21
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It can be hard trying to find activities that will impress a teenage boy and also keep his younger "tween" brother excited and engaged. This place is one of those activities. And I really enjoyed it too! There's lots of information, but interspersed with hands on activities...writing names in Norman writing, taking rubbings, fair ground games, dressing up...a big hit is the man on the toilet!!

I also really enjoyed teaching my two charges for the day about the Wood Quay controversy using the information from the third floor. Imagine how far these discoveries could have brought us if only politics had not destroyed it. Such a shame. It's important that the next generation are taught about this so that it can be avoided in the future.

The walk up the tower isn't as tough as we had expected and the view is cool (although if you aren't very fit or find stairs difficult, you aren't missing too much, we don't have a particularly dramatic skyline in Dublin!)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary-ThereseB, Marketing Manager at Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Sounds like you really enjoyed Dublinia which is great news to our ears!
We at Dublinia agreee with your point regarding the Wood Quay controversy, we see it as one of the highlights of our History Hunters exhibition in terms of the future importance of protecting our archaeology.
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“V. Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Took my daughter and her friend here last Sunday and they had a ball. It was entertaining engaging and educational rolled into one and a great day out for under 20 euro ! Really recommend it esp for their age group 8-9 year old. They was so much interactive stuff to do which they loved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and Interactive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great time learning the history of Dublin. Interactive and entertaining. Friendly tour guide. Kids would love it. Husbands, too :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“More geared toward kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Though this museum was terrific fun, it was definitely geared more toward kids. There were many interactive explanations, including putting on helmets and the like (which was pretty good fun for the wife and I). Much of the museum had replicas or eerily realistic dummies. I would recommend highly for families, less so for adults only.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin also viewed

 

Been to Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.