We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin

Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin
St. Michael's Hill | Christ Church, Dublin 8, Ireland
353 1 6794611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 276 attractions in Dublin
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dublinia is one of Dublin’s top visitor attractions with three exciting exhibitions all located at the historic crossroads of Dublin. There are three exciting exhibitions; Viking Dublin and Medieval Dublin recreate the city through life size reconstructions, including a Viking house and a medieval fair while Death and Disease are also investigated. Finally unearth the city’s past at the new interactive History Hunters exhibition, visit an excavation site, and see medieval bugs under the microscope in the Lab. See Dublin from a new perspective and come away knowing more about its citizens throughout the ages!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It can be hard trying to find activities that will impress a teenage boy and also keep his younger "tween" brother excited and engaged. This place is one of those activities. And I really enjoyed it too! There's lots of information, but interspersed with hands on activities...writing names in Norman writing, taking rubbings, fair ground games, dressing up...a big hit is the man on the toilet!!

I also really enjoyed teaching my two charges for the day about the Wood Quay controversy using the information from the third floor. Imagine how far these discoveries could have brought us if only politics had not destroyed it. Such a shame. It's important that the next generation are taught about this so that it can be avoided in the future.

The walk up the tower isn't as tough as we had expected and the view is cool (although if you aren't very fit or find stairs difficult, you aren't missing too much, we don't have a particularly dramatic skyline in Dublin!)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary-ThereseB, Marketing Manager at Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Sounds like you really enjoyed Dublinia which is great news to our ears!
We at Dublinia agreee with your point regarding the Wood Quay controversy, we see it as one of the highlights of our History Hunters exhibition in terms of the future importance of protecting our archaeology.
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    253
    83
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“V. Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Took my daughter and her friend here last Sunday and they had a ball. It was entertaining engaging and educational rolled into one and a great day out for under 20 euro ! Really recommend it esp for their age group 8-9 year old. They was so much interactive stuff to do which they loved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and Interactive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great time learning the history of Dublin. Interactive and entertaining. Friendly tour guide. Kids would love it. Husbands, too :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“More geared toward kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Though this museum was terrific fun, it was definitely geared more toward kids. There were many interactive explanations, including putting on helmets and the like (which was pretty good fun for the wife and I). Much of the museum had replicas or eerily realistic dummies. I would recommend highly for families, less so for adults only.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“It's a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I went to Dublinia with my fiancée expecting to see boring museum stuff. We couldn't be more wrong. It's simply AMAZING! Very informative and not boring at all. The interaction is the best thing. You can actually enter houses, touch models, try on clothes! If you are in Dublin and want to know a bit about its history, go to Dublinia!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin to your Saves list