We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had really fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dublin Zoo

Dublin Zoo
The Phoenix Park | Cunningham Road, Dublin 8, Ireland (Phoenix Park)
353 1 677 1425
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$76*
and up
Ranked #24 of 218 Attractions in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the world's oldest zoos, Dublin Zoo is also modern in design and houses more than 600 animals. It has been redesigned in recent years to be a safe environment for people and the animals with gardens, lakes and natural habitats.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Malta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We had really fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have visited in June 2013. Really big zoo. The animal habitat set up where like you are in their natural place, it is like you are in the forest or in the savanna not in the zoo. Animals are really well kept. Enjoyed

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,109
    597
    169
    57
    44
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, Co. Londonderry , N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fab Zoo - Great Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a fabulous day out at Dublin Zoo with my family, 10 & 3 yr old. The viewing of the animals was great and plenty of them to see in their spacious enclosures. We couldn't actually believe how close we got to some of the animals. The kids loved the feeding times with the zoo keepers, so it is worth checking the times for each enclosure either online before you go on upon arrival so that you can plan your tour around these activities.
It is a large zoo with plenty of walking and we spent almost 4 hours if fun in there!! We took a picnic which adds to the fun day out as food on site was expensive.
Finally, forget Belfast Zoo it does not come near Dublin Zoo, this place is worth the travel down

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fab for kids and adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Been here loads of times but we found best time to come is spring/summer as in the winter it's somewhat disappointing as a lot of the animals are out if sight due to it been cold/wet so they hide in their houses which a lot are out of sight. There's more places to get a drink/food in the summer as well as they are dotted around the zoo with ice lollys drinks crisps etc but in the winter there's only the cafes they have which are very expensive and aren't very nice food and poor choice. It cost 40 euros in meerkat cafe for two pizzas and two teas and the pizza was horrible looked dry and old. In the summer you can join in the events such as helping to feed the animals or watch them perform and show off. Plus in the summer they take group photos of you and put them into a book but are expensive I'm afraid they are nice though specially if you have young children but word of warning do NOT wear green like my mum did as she blended in the background of the scence they use which was hilarious but at the same time spoilt the pics/books. Expensive entry fee but if your disabled you get in for free which is ace and is totally accessible for them as well. Take a good 3 or more hours to get round as well so is somewhat a day out

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Was ok, not as good as i expected...specially after visiting wouburn safari and hearing abt the penguin parade at edinburgh zoo..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money, not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Worst zoo I've ever been to!
Very little animals, most of the cages and places r empty, and if you'll finally see some animals they will be very tired looking.
Meerkat restaurant is very basic, you lunch will be not very enjoyable.
People who leave good comment probably never went to any others zoo's in Europe and they have no commparison .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublin Zoo also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dublin Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublin Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.