We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christ Church Cathedral

Christ Church Cathedral
Christchurch Place, Dublin 8, Ireland
00353 1 677 8099
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$76*
and up
Ranked #37 of 218 Attractions in Dublin
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Christ Church Cathedral is one of Dublin's oldest buildings, a leading visitor attraction and a place of pilgrimage for almost 1,000 years. Famous for its breathtaking beauty, magnificent architectural features and wonderful floor tiles, Christ Church is also popular as a venue and is host to many high profile concerts throughout the year. It is home to the tomb of Strongbow, leader of the Normans, who captured Dublin in 1170. The Medieval Crypt, one of the largest in Britain and Ireland, extends under the entire Cathedral and contains The Mummified cat and rat, trapped in the organ in the 1860s.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's a beautiful church on the outside, but because of our walking tour, we weren't able to get a look on the inside. It is situated in a lovely area with lots to do. It's a must see while in Dublin.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    268
    82
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“View from the outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The view from the outside is the best. Inside is nothing extraordinary, especially if you've been to some of the other churches around Europe. Skip the hefty 6 euro fee and wasted time and just stroll past it.

Remember, this building as it stands now is less than 200 years old.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm not sure what you have been reading re. the age of the building. The nave was extensively restored in the 1870s, however much of the fabric, including the 13th century north wall and transepts, dates from much earlier, whilst the12th century cathedral crypt is the oldest structure in Dublin and contains some Viking foundations from the 11th century.
As a registered charity which receives no state funding we are grateful to all our visitors for their contribution to cathedral upkeep - I'm sorry you thought 6e per adult was 'hefty', it's a lot less than many attractions in the city and includes admission to the cathedral crypt and 'Treasures of Christ Church' exhibition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Expensive for a cathedral”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The entrance fee is a little steep for what you get to see (€6). The cathedral is beautiful but it’s nothing different from many of the others in Europe. The crypt was also disappointing. While there were some old graves there was not a lot to look at. I also found it cheap and a little disrespectful that they built the café over some of the existing graves.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you weren't completely happy with your visit to the cathedral. Our entrance fee is lower than most other attractions in Dublin city and, as a registered charity dependent on the income generated by tourists to survive, it the least we can charge to ensure we can keep the cathedral open for visitors. The 'graves' you speak of in our 12th century crypt (one of the largest in Europe and the oldest structure in Dublin) are actually monuments to people who have (or in some cases actually haven't) been buried in the cathedral nave, which were moved down there during a Victorian restoration of the cathedral - so they bear little reference to the final resting place of the people they commemorate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Beautiful, with macabre touches in the crypt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our visit to the lovely Christ Church Cathedral was very low-key. Upstairs, we admired the lovely stonework and stained glass, as well as the musician's corner and the tombs of Strongbow and others, before heading down into the crypt. In addition to beautifully carved tombs (around which the strangely cozy Crypt Cafe has been built), there as a sizable display of ecclesiastical treasures like altar plates, chalices, etc. The strangest sight, however, are the astonishingly well preserved mummies of a cat and a rat that were discovered in an organ pipe!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for your review. Glad you managed to see our famous cat and rat mummies. They've attracted a lot of attention over the years! James Joyce even talks about them in 'Finnnegans Wake', saying 'As stuck to that cat to that mouse in that tube of that Christchurch organ...'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

How can a building this old remain there so we are able to enjoy it, I have no idea, but I'm glad! Medieval history is better understood with places like these.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church Cathedral also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Christ Church Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christ Church Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.