We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self-Guided Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christ Church Cathedral

Christ Church Cathedral
Christchurch Place, Dublin 8, Ireland
00353 1 677 8099
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$76*
and up
Ranked #37 of 218 Attractions in Dublin
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Christ Church Cathedral is one of Dublin's oldest buildings, a leading visitor attraction and a place of pilgrimage for almost 1,000 years. Famous for its breathtaking beauty, magnificent architectural features and wonderful floor tiles, Christ Church is also popular as a venue and is host to many high profile concerts throughout the year. It is home to the tomb of Strongbow, leader of the Normans, who captured Dublin in 1170. The Medieval Crypt, one of the largest in Britain and Ireland, extends under the entire Cathedral and contains The Mummified cat and rat, trapped in the organ in the 1860s.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Self-Guided Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We didn't purchase tickets and toured the church and catacombs on our own. I'm not sure if you are supposed to do it, but it worked for us:)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi there,
Thanks for your review - I hope you enjoyed your visit. The majority of our visitors opt for self-guided tours so don't worry, you didn't do anything wrong! We do offer guided tours of both the cathedral and belfry and we also have souvenir audioguides for sale so if you're back in the vicinity and fancy learning a bit more about the cathedral you'll be spoiled for choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    268
    82
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TUCSON
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding crypt, great history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Never met a cathedral I did not like. Christ Church is beautiful, particularly struck by the incredible floor tiles throughout. From tourist brochure available in my hotel, Arlington Temple Bar, I noted there was a daily morning prayer at 10am and so timed my visit to coincide with this. Though only three of us in additon to clergy it was lovely to sit in the choir area and participate. The crypt is outstanding!! Most worthy of a visit by anyone who loves history. The displays were outstanding, lit and set out beautifully, but the crypt itself is worth seeing. There is a short video of the history of the cathedral and it is extremely well produced. I shall return.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi Judith,
Thanks for your review - it's really worth timing a visit to coincide with a service, you get a much better idea of what the cathedral is all about. Next time you visit see if you can take in a choral service - details are on the website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Imaginative, creepy, interesting, fascinating, wierd and mysterious all in the one place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited both of the Dublin cathedrals and I must say this was our favourite. St Patrick's, please don't take that as a slur as we liked you too. It's just that this was the favourite!

It was surprising to learn that both Christ Church and St Patrick's are Anglican rather than one being Roman Catholic.

The use of the crypt was imaginative if a little creepy. Not sure I would want to be working in the shop or cafe down there! I can understand the thoughts of those who find the prescence of these retail oulets offensive but I'm afraid I base my opinion on what they were selling, none of which could be deemed inappropriate. Having enjoyed the Tudors (purely based on my interest in that period of our history rather than the racey content of the series!) I loved seeing the costumes on display. The mummified cat and rat were 'interesting' and the video of the cathedral's history fascinating.

Back upstairs in the main body of the cathedral the tomb of Strongbow posed some questions in my mind - perhaps we should have bought the guide book! For example, why were his legs crossed and who is the apparently legless figure lying beside him? I'll no doubt ask this on the Dublin forum.

And as for the theft of the saint's heart - how wierd is that? Especially as he/she/they left behind the metal box when we all know how common that sort of theft is nowadays. I see on the internet that there was no sign of a break-in and other precious and expensive artefacts were left untouched. Mysterious to say the least!

We visited Christ Church as a 'hop off' on the red hoho bus and would recommend others to do the same.

My review is based on the tourist attraction element of the cathedral but it must also be said and not forgotten that this is an active place of worship.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi there,
Thanks so much for your thoughtful and comprehensive review. It might interest you to know that the shop and cafe in the crypt are quite tame compared to medieval standards - there used to be taverns, ale houses and even wig-makers down there! We're not quite sure why the figure of Strongbow has crossed legs (it's not the original tomb, which was destroyed when the roof collapsed in 1562) - there are some theories; that it showed that the person took part in the crusades for example, or that it's merely a stylistic flourish. As for the little figure beside it - it's a genuine mystery - is it a depiction of his wife, child, some fragment of the original monument or a long lasting medieval joke, put there to confuse us, who knows?! We're hopeful that the heart relic will one day be returned to us. Please do feel free to participate in a service next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always have passed it by but not today!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lovely building, loved the peace and quiet xxxx Really worth a viist to the crypt. Only complaint why are families of 2 adults and 1 child always charged extra............a family ticket 14 euro's and we were asked to pay 15 euro's !!!!!!! surely one child causes less foot fall than two children.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi Shaz,
Glad you dropped in and that you enjoyed your visit. Sorry there was a mix-up with the admission fee - two adults and one child (under 16) should only ever have been 14e with or without the extra child!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Building - well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Brilliant, Fascinating artefacts in cellar area, gorgeous organ and beautiful stained glass windows. Beautiful building and grounds, a lovely way to while away an hour or two

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church Cathedral also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Christ Church Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christ Church Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.