We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belgard Road 24 | Tallaght, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hard to find!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Visiting Dublin to go to the Zoo, ended up lost for hours as we couldn't find it(not signposted anywhere!) ended up going to the hotel early and staying there all night, had dinner in the pub which is attached, food was good but plates were cold so good quickly became cold too. The room was standard, old style TV, bed and bedside lamps which were tatty! Bathroom was fine but smelt of cigarette smoke for some reason, neither of us smoke so this was surprising. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room which was good. Also free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Nikki H,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor.
Sorry to hear it took you some time to locate the hotel.
I was delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the food on offer in McClafferty's Bar. I have noted your feedback with regard to the cold plates and smell of smoke in the bathroom, I have passed these onto the department managers concerned.

I do hope you return to he hotel in the near future. Thank you once again for the feedback.

Kind Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    81
    71
    58
    47
See reviews for
39
129
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lovely weekend stay with very friendly and obliging staff. Manager was most helpful over an issue to do with booking and courteously paid for our meal as a show of grace when in fact he wasn't obliged to......handled the situation most professionally with a cheery disposition! Reception staff were extremely helpful, especially the gentleman who assisted me to use the computer to pay for the road toll(something that was quite alien to me!) The room was clean, spacious, with comfortable bed and on suite was immaculately clean and the room maid(claire) was most helpful in advising us of a good, quiet room away from nightclub noise....We slept like a babes! The function we were attending was well catered for and all breakfasts were wholesome , with again friendly service. We would highly recommend this hotel in future to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Speak to the in house staff, they are very helpful. Ask for a room away from the adjoining night clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Shirley F,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on tripadvisor.

Obviously I was delighted to read how positive your stay with us was for you. We were delighted to host the Old Boys Reunion dinner dance recently and the feedback we have received back has been absolutely super.
I was also happy to hear how satisfied you were with your bedroom and that the staff were extremely helpful to you during your visit. We consistently score highly for our standards of Housekeeping and Staff friendliness so to hear similar from you is especially pleasing.

Thank you once again for your feedback, I do hope you will return to the hotel in the not to distant future.

Warm Regards,
Darrell Penney,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I booked a three night stay at the end of October at the Plaza hotel!
I seriously wish i hadn't!!
I had decided that the plaza was a good choice as it was described as a four star hotel and had a restaurant!
The plaza is in no way a four star hotel,it does not have the facilities to be four star or the service and i will be having a meeting in regards to the 4* status it should be revoked instantly!!

I was staying due to a personal matter and had to stay alone, i met with a member of my family and we asked the reception if we could book a table at the restaurant ,i had no words spoken to me just a finger pointed to the PUB!!!next door.We in a little shock walked into the pub and was amazed at the fact it wasnt even a cosy friendly pub it was the sort i expect next to a 1* hotel.
We sat for 45 mins and even though we tried to get the attention of the waitress it seemed impossible.We walked out and went instead to a very nice chinese resturant which had class and a 4* star ambience,we had again asked to go into the restaurant but was refused!!No explanation,zero.!!
The receptionist just sits at there table no hello,no everything ok ,NO SERVICE.
I asked for a taxi ,a company that would not over charge and was handed an out of date leaflet and they sat back in there seat.
My next fantastic exchange with the reception all the same lady ,I came down and asked if she could tell me who called me at my room while i slept as i missed the call she shrugged and said why would i know i only just came on my shift, i replied well i am expecting a call from my fiance from poland and its important do you have a hand over,she said ok ill check.She then again shrugged her shoulders no nothing here!!!Thats it no ill try and find out or sorry ..Nothing!!
Now i know sometimes people dont like to work in a hotel but customer service and a clean room are paramount and we the customer are what keep you in business and i received neither.
I asked her why was she so rude and i got an innane grin back.And i was aware the manager was listening in the back office ,he didnt come out he did also nothing!!
The room was old fashioned ,had terrible facilities and yes noise.!!!How can the manager say no complaints about noise there is a club ,right next door!!And the bathroom had loads of black hair and grey pubic hair all over it.Im blonde and young and have neither!!!!
I have never left a review about anything in my life on a site for something but it was such an unpleasant experience in a very rough part of the town that i am shocked that it hasnt been demolished and with a recession there are many people looking for work ,i would advise the manager to change his front of desk staff and find warm,friendly helpful people!!Only one guy was reasonably polite.
One positive point,Breakfast!!Cheap for what you can eat and apart from the sausages actually very good value!!And the restaurant that you dine in for breakfast was actually very pleasant!!With views at the window .and i am so shocked that this area was not available to dine in the evening.It is quite possible the saving grace in this dying hotel and should be used more efficiently.
I will be taking this further and will be seeking reviews from other customers.
I really do not like to make a fuss over nothing and am happy to just quietly let small discrepancies pass but i have never felt so uncomfortable anywhere before!!And that receptionist should be disciplined!!
I know though that i will be just ignored and so i will be making sure others know just how terrible it was!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lovely hotel, comfy room but got too warm at night, was very noisy due to wedding in the hotel but that didn't bother us. The older guy that bought us the baby cot was a gentle man and very friendly. Girls at reception could smile a bit more. Food in the pub was yummy and cozy place. Will come back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Sachafierce,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor.
I was delighted to read your positive comments with regard to your recent stay.
The Chef will be especially pleased to read how you enjoyed your meal in the hotel.

I have passed your kind words onto the Management & Staff.

Many thanks once again.

Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband & I with 4 friends visited this hotel for 4 days this November and found it excellent and well placed for visiting Dublin and The Wicklow Mountains. It was spotlessly clean, excellent service, very pleasant staff and wonderful food. Hope to go back before to long and would certainly recommend to all. There's an delightfult little pub in the town called The Dragon Inn which again is full of Irish hospitality and warmth.the you fancy an evening drink elsewhere.

Room Tip: 202 second floor is a spacious corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear AnneMarieCoppock,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on tripadvisor.

In recent months we have received much praise for our standards of housekeeping, quality of food and most of all our staff so I am especially pleased to note how highly you rate us in these categories also.

I have passed your wonderful comments onto the Management & Staff who will also take great pleasure in reading same.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband & I had booked here for a 2 night relaxing break, sun to tue. When we arrived it was not at all what we expected, the location looks very dodgy & unsafe. When we got into the main reception, the reception area don't look very clean, staff at front reception were polite. Our room was nice decor but the furniture was stained & chipped, the bed was so small & uncomfortable, the sheets were worn. When we went to bed we couldn't sleep as there was a nightclub pumping down below us, so we left it until 12am to see if it would stop & it didn't so I phoned reception to complain, they moved us room & it was even worse!! We hardly got any sleep.... As 7am came & someone had their tv blasting, & you could hear every noise from the hallway, not impressed!! We decided not to stay another night, absolutely unacceptable. It is definitely not a 4 star hotel, more like 3 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Lynnep5,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on tripadvisor.

Obviously I was extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
There is no excuse for the disruption you experienced during your stay and I am extremely sorry that we failed to find you a more comfortable and quieter room when you brought the issues to our attention.

I am saddened to learn that you will do not wish to return to the hotel, however I would welcome an opportunity to welcome you back in the future and restore your faith in our hotel. Should you be visiting Dublin again in the future I would appreciate if you contact me at darrellpenney@plazahotel.ie.

Thank you once again for your helpful feedback.

Kind Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Modern hotel some way out of town (35mins?) but on the tram line. Clean, tidy, good condition, staff pleasant and helpful. We were on a coach tour so the menu was a preset limited choice, but the food was good. It is quite a large hotel but there is only one lift and the bar, restaurant and cafe are not particularly large. We heard complaints from people who had rooms on the front concerning the noise from people leaving a halloween party in one of the function rooms.

Room Tip: Possibly keep off front rooms at the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear paulandvalerie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on tripadvisor.

I was delighted to learn that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed dining with us also.

I have passed your comments onto the Management & Staff who will also be delighted with the feedback.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Belgard Road 24 | Tallaght, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Plaza Hotel is a stylish modern hotel in South Dublin overlooking the spectacular views of the Dublin/Wicklow mountains.It is an ideal location to stay with Shopping centres, Boutiques, Theatre, Cinema, Parks & Sports Arenas on your doorstep. The hotel is just 20 minutes from Dublin City Centre & Dublin Airport. There is a choice of Restaurants & Bars on site. A warm friendly welcome & guaranteed standard of service and quality awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.