We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our wildest dreams” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariel House

Save Saved
You added Ariel House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ariel House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beyond our wildest dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

The day we landed in Dublin there had been a freak blizzard which paralyzed everything. Our cabbie said the day before it was taking 4 hours to drive the 45 minute drive in from the airport! But any worries died away when we got to Ariel House. I had pretty high expectations, but the actuality was even better. It is a stunning, historical home, filled with gorgeous antiques and velvet curtains/sofas. We were in the William Butler Yeats room, which was the size of a suite, and contained a tall antique armoire, marble fireplace, window alcove with tall draped windows, and wingback armchairs , and finally a plush canopied bed. The bathroom was also roomy, modern and spotless. Amazing. On further exploration, we saw that the sitting room was similarly elegant. The piece de resistance was the breakfast room which was gorgeous. Gracious waitresses served us from a full breakfast menu, and the breakfasts came with the room! Because of the snow situation, I had to call from London and say that if the planes flew we'd be there, but if not, I would be unable to give them the required 24 hour concellation notice. The were so understanding and said do not worry about a thing. They continued to be that gracious throughout our two night stay. I cannot give enough stars to this establishment.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    565
    205
    35
    15
    11
See reviews for
198
364
29
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed there 4 nights and it was great. Nice sized room with private bath. Good location, away from noise but close to city. 1/2 block from DART but only a 15 minute walk to St. Stephen's Green. Rooms clean and bright. Breakfast awesome! Wonderful variety! Great vegetarian fare available for my god-daughter. Beautiful breakfast room with glass ceiling. Order afternoon tea and scones! To die for! Someone at the desk at all times for questions. Did a large bag of laundry for only 10 Euro.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

My favorite parts of Ariel are the breakfast solarium and breakfast. The choices at breakfast are delicious and the setting is a great place to start the day. Unfortunately our room was dark and oddly shaped. We spent most of our time walking around Dublin so didn't spend much time in the room but something warmer or cheerier suits me better.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel on a tour of Ireland- by far the best!!. There was a welcoming atmosphere as soon as we entered the hotel, which was beautifully decorated in a victorian stlye with a lovely drawing room. We took the tour which was offered as part of the package which saved us some money. The room was a large family room, lovely, clean and plenty of room we had 2 double beds, sofa (bed- didnot use) and comfy chairs. Tea and coffee facilities good and complimentry wash products of good quailty. The hotel is about 20 min steady walk into St Stephens Green where you can catch tour bus and bar streets. What was really impressive was breakfast!! excellent choice including a range of cearals, etc Award winning porridge and choice of hot irish breakfast, french toast with creme fraiche and berries- wonderful such a range and very high quality, attentive service throughout. The children were well catered for with choice of food etc. Will definately be visiting again and would recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010 via mobile

Stayed there for 1 night. Found the room to be clean and spacious. Breakfast was superb. Freshly squeezed orange juice and a great selection of food on offer.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This is lovely hotel, which provides a more personal experience. Each morning they provided a breakfast with so much food of any and every variety. The scones were the best we had on the whole trip. The hotel is in an afluent part of Dublin and is within a 15 minute walk of; St. Stephen's Green park & Grafton Street (Shopping). If you prefer to take the intracity train. The station is only a short walk away. We will definitely being staying at this hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

The quick version of this review would be: forget about everything else, choose Ariel House.

It's absolutely perfect. Great staff, great rooms, perfect location with easy access to the DART station (brings you to the City Centre within a few minutes) and perfect breakfast. We got offered tea and biscuits in the afternoon, and even got a little bag with fresh scones with jam when we were about to take the train to Belfast. Little things like this makes you feel special, you're not just "a tourist" or a random guest.

I have nothing negative to say about this place. It's truly heaven.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariel House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.