We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ariel House to your Saves list
Ariel House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Here!
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Room was basic but clean and comfortable. Service was excellent -all at a very good price. Breakfast very good and menu caters for all tastes. 30mins walk to centre of town or good transport links. Next door to Aviva stadium.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    238
    38
    15
    13
See reviews for
233
435
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vostok
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

For our weekend in Dublin we chose this guesthouse. It has an impressive entrance with a lounge that offers a nice selection of tea, coffee and cakes. We had room 223, the room was spacious and clean. The furniture is quite old, many will like it others won't. Personally I prefer less vintage style. The sleep quality was quite good, the beds where comfortable. If you are not used to the city try to get one of the few rooms to the backside.
I would like to highlight the delicious breakfast, which has an extremly good variety.
The staff was nice and attentive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, UK
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Room 226
22 January

Reception seemed ok - not exactly warm but efficient.
Room 226 is facing the back. Very high ceilings and a bathroom that has been added into the original room. Tight squeeze in the bathroom but acceptable.

I found the room cold. Radiator is on flat out but is warm at the bottom and cold at the top. Clearly needs air venting. Not great when you wake up cold in the night.

The lights in the room are a touch difficult. There is no switch on the light so you must grope down at the wall to turn them off and it's them hard to find the switch in the dark.

Creaky floorboards in my room. Furniture that is dated or quaint - depends on your view.

The lounge was very nice and had a selection of coffee and cake available in the afternoon.

My price did not include breakfast so I cannot advise on that.

The lounge pulls the overall hotel up - but if this is really the 2nd best in Dublin - heaven knows what the other hotels are like!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Ariel House in November 2013, it is a beautiful period building and our room was very warm, clean and comfortable.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious - tasted like all fresh and high-quality ingredients.

Ariel House is a little bit outside of the city, however it is located right next to the DART which was very regular and a really quick journey into the city centre. The DART also runs quite late into the evening which was handy. In addition, it was quite nice to head back to a quieter, leafy area of Dublin after busy days of sight seeing and walking around in the hustle bustle of the city!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

firstly, this is a very nice B&B. It is in Ballsbridge and whilst quite close to a pretty major road; it is mostly quiet. I was on the entry level floor (2nd floor but really the floor that is the lobby floor) and although I heard noise from the floor above, otherwise, it was quiet. Others have commented on the dated rooms but they are fine. bed comfortable, shower and bath fine….nice touch on the Irish "hand made" toiletries. All of this was good. However, and I hope the management does read this; you need to do something about the selection of TV channels. The location of this B&B, close to firms and research/education offices suggest that folks might (like me) be coming to Dublin for business. If this is the case, then what you really need is to be able to come back and watch something other than one of the 11 really poor channel selections. It is not that costly to get better cable and you do need to listen to the reviewers earlier on this. Yes, if you are here as a tourist, watching TV is not high on the list but Ariel House, if you want to get business travelers back, having decent channels to watch when you are not here to see Dublin is a good (smart) idea. For that reason, and a few other small issues, I doubt I would suggest this again--for business travelers-- given the choices in the area. If this is not an issue, then apart from the noise factor (people above me were just really noisy), this was a fine choice. One tip, on Shelburne Road (out the door, take a right, then a left and then walk straight) is a wine bar called French Paradox. Very nice wine and you can get tapas like food. Nice atmosphere, fine to go by yourself and wi-fi!

Room Tip: higher the floor better as you can hear above you….
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear CavKA,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ariel House for your recent visit to Dublin and for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. We are really pleased that you found your room to be comfortable and clean and enjoyed the ambiance of the house in general. We have taken on board your suggestion in relation to providing a more enhanced selection of television channels for our business and leisure visitors alike and will look at improving this element of the service we provide. In relation to the overhead noise from the room above, I apologise for this; if you have the occasion to return to stay with us in the future we will be sure to allocate a room on the upmost floor. Mentioned also in your review were some other minor issues which arose. I would be keen to remedy these, no matter how small, and would be grateful if you can contact me by email to reservations@ariel-house.net. May I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Deirdre McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited Ariel House on a 2 night bed and breakfast basis. We were on a course in the IPA which is just across the road. The train station is right beside the hotel which makes it an ideal location if you want to go into the City Centre or other parts of Dublin.

Rooms are dated but they are so clean and the beds are so comfortable. At €40 per night each it was really good value.

Breakfast is the best thing about this hotel. So much choice and it is nice to stay somewhere where there are healthy options. We had the poached eggs and salmon and it was beautiful.

There is a little tea room where they have afternoon tea for their guests which was lovely after a two hour drive.
I will definitely be bringing the family to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was at this cosy bed and breakfast in Dublin for two nights. The staff are very friendly and the room I was given very peaceful and warm. It is located close to the train station into the centre, but is only a 20 min walk to Grafton Street. All in all i would highly recommend it. In the afternoon they provide tea and scones in the main reception area with the daily papers and comfy sofas. It is definitely value for money. It was 44 euros per night for a twim bedroom. Only issue I experienced is thatvthe hair dryer was not working but they soon provided me with a replacement one.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariel House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.