We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Welcome in Dublin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ariel House

Save Saved
You added Ariel House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ariel House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Here!
Ranked #4 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome in Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Everything about Ariel House was fine, but two things were outstanding. The staff is superb, welcoming, informative and always happy to help. They made our stay very special. And then the Irish Breakfast was amazing. All items from porridge to salmon to the full Irish were great. Good location. Nicely decorated. Not fancy, but excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    208
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
205
369
30
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Good location if you are happy to walk in ,also could bus or taxi in to centre. Peaceful and parking in grounds. However the quilt and pillows although clean were tired and had lost all bounce. Would stay again .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

You know that you have arrived in the right place if the face that greets you smiles &asks you how your travel was. The rooms are large and so are the bathrooms and immaculate. Service is to the tee and whatever you want you will get. The beds were great as were the pillows and the food very good. The best thing however is the people working there, always friendly, helpful and in for a chat. I would definitely come back here. .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Straight from the plane (overnight from Hong Kong to Heathrow and onto Dublin) and we arrived way, way earlier than expected on the doorstop of Ariel House. At 9am we received THE warmest welcome from Diedre at reception who ushered us into the gorgeous parlour and the most comfortable lounge chairs. There was not a sign of the establishment being in any way inconvenienced or flustered by our super early arrival. In fact the staff could not have made our welcome more inviting with the beautiful Jess offering and serving us 'fresh from the oven' scones, jam with double cream closely followed by home baked banana bread, a pot of piping hot tea and fresh coffee exactly to my husband's taste. All of this served up with the most DELIGHTFULLY charming Irish manner. Next we were welcomed by Ewa (pronounced Eva) as she professionally attended to her housekeeping duties and then kind offers of assistance with directions for later in the day from Eoin (pronounced Owen) as our room was prepared. Early access to our room, a quick unpack, shower to refresh and we were set to not waste a minute of our time in Dublin. Ariel House was EVERYTHING and much much more than what we had read about this treasure on Trip Advisor. Our room was very well appointed, its decoration particularly charming and the bed so comfortable!! If that wasn't enough, each morning the breakfast was an absolute HIGHLIGHT. DELICIOUS, so much choice and with such lovely touches and attention to detail in its presentation. Compliments to the chef! Jess and Myron's wonderfully professional and yet friendly service further enhanced our experience.The ease, calm and charm with which everything is done for you makes Ariel House an absolute definite and a pleasure to recommend to others. Apologies to other Ariel House staff who also contributed to our wonderful stay and whose names I didn't note. Also to note: So easy to get to and from by bus. We took Airport Express Bus from airport to the city and then you can catch either Bus 4 or 7 from O'Connell Street and its less than (an easy) 5 minute walk from bus stop to Ariel House. Buses from the city run until 11:30pm and they come so frequently or you can take a cab (only 5 Euro fare) to or from the city. Thanks Ariel House, everything was GRAND!! We'll most definitely be back, looking forward to seeing you all again and am more than happy to spread the word about the gem that you are! PS They did our laundry at no charge. On our first night we were so taken with the amazing comedy show that we'd discovered in the city that we missed getting any dinner. At Midnight, Ariel House staff upon hearing this, organised a delicious platter of food to be delivered to our room!! WOW!! Would love to share photos of this amazing place but we left our camera in Germany and it is on its way back to us as I type.

Room Tip: My husband is 6 foot 3 inches tall and the delightful Diedre ensured that our room had a bed without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife & I spent 3 nights at Ariel House in Dublin in early September'13.This place has it all... beautifully decorated, professional,friendly & helpful staff & just up the road from the train ( the Dart) that takes you into the centre of Dublin in a matter of a few stops.
The breakfast room is beautifully set out with cereals,fruit,coffee etc. & a menu for a hearty hot & delicious Irish breakfast.
After a hard day's walk around Dublin you can come back & sit & relax in the chairs of the plush common room with fresh coffee or tea & cakes & read the daily newspapers provided.
Ariel House has got it right,I would not hesitate to stay here again....full marks.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room no.250,spacious & well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for four nights whilst in Dublin for a family party. Lovely quiet room overlooking garden with comfortable beds. Best breakfast we have ever had with great choice on the menu.
Couple of minutes walk to Dart station which takes you into centre of city. Some good restaurants within walking distance. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay. It was one of the prettiest rooms we've ever stayed in. Gorgeous antique furniture completed its charm. Could not speak highly enough of the staff - they were extremely helpful and obliging with any requests or questions - nothing was ever too much trouble. Breakfast was amazing with service to match. It made our stay in Dublin so memorable. There are several lovely restaurants within walking distance and also a small convenience store.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariel House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.