We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariel House

Save Saved
You added Ariel House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Mesa, AZ
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at the Ariel House 3 times during my trip to Ireland (a total of 8 nights) I stayed in 3 different rooms and all were comfortable. Dieirdre, Rosie, Eoin and the rest of the staff are so welcoming & accomodating. The breakfast and afternoon tea were delicious. The location is about a 20 minute walk to city centre. I look forward to staying there again on my next trip to Dublin.

Room Tip: The suites facing the street have large windows that can be opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    554
    201
    34
    15
    11
See reviews for
189
346
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited Ariel House for the third year in a row this summer and I can't rate it highly enough. The staff are excellent; helpful, friendly and well informed. The rooms are beautifully appointed, well equiped and exceptionally comfortable (I particularly liked the small jar of homemade lemon biscuits). The breakfasts are outstanding, with something to suit everyone's taste! It was my daughter's 18th birthday during our stay and the staff went out of their way to help make it a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Mum & I returned to the Ariel House again this year and were not disappointed.The welcome we received was as if we were long lost friends,all the staff as always were friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts were superb and Deirdre and her team even allowed us the use of the dining room for our wee picnic supper on a couple of evenings, adding treats to make it even more special. (My Mum is 91 so tripping the light fantastic every night in Dublin fair city was not going to work!) We didn't have time to sample an Afternoon Tea ourselves, but I did witness one...a treat is certainly in store for anyone, a real feast awaits you! The Ariel, Deirdre and her team certainly make your trip one to remember. My partner and I have decided to spend our honeymoon there next year and can't wait to return and enjoy it all. Thanks for another great stay.

Room Tip: Room 230 is next to the dining room (but quiet) and perfect for ease of using the facilities if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room and were very happy with our stay. The room was large and nicely appointed and included an en-suite 4 piece bath. The room was furnished with nice antiques, the bed was comfortable and although there was no air-conditioning, a fan was provided on request for the warmer than usually Dublin temperatures we experienced during our stay.

Service exceeded our expectations. We were greeted warmly on arrival and any requests (boarding pass printing, directions to nearby attractions and restaurants, questions about meal hours, etc.) we answered with enthusiasm and courtesy.

The breakfast was everything others report - both a hot disk menu and all-you-can-eat assortment of breads, fruit and beverages are included in the room price. The food was of very good quality and the service was excellent. We were also very pleased with the included afternoon tea.

The only thing that appeared lacking was the quality of the toiletries provided. This is a minor complaint but higher quality toiletries would not cost much and would match the rest of the great experience at Ariel House.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the top floor as otherwise you may hear noise from oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Ariel house, July 22-24. Great B&B with nice location (2-300 meters from Lansdown road DART station which will take you to Dublin center in 5-10 min), a few restaurants nearby and the pretty amazing Aviva Stadium nearby. We had a nice room with 2 queen beds, a nice bathroom and plenty of space. Excellent breakfast, one can choose from a buffet or order special items, salmon, sausages, irish breakfast, nice and good. Everything was almost perfect, just had an issue with a couple of things in the bathroom but the staff was friendly and helpful. My only (small) complain is that it feels a little bit more like an hotel than a B&B, everyone is very professional but you don't really know who owns the place...because you never met them...at least we did not...the place lacks some personal interaction which you would expect when you choose B&B vs hotel (see my other review for Friars Glen in Killarney)....but you won't be disappointed by the service, room, locations, breakfast, etc..Ariel house certainly deserves its rank as one of the best B&B in Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent two days in Ariel House. The staff were nice and very helpful. Lovely building in a nice location. Excellent breakfast. Our booking didn't include breakfast but the extra cost was well worth it and very reasonable. We were able to walk comfortably into town and found several restaurants and pubs within walking distance. The taxi ride from the airport was about €40.00. Recommend Ariel House as a definite place to consider when visiting Dublin.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariel House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.